Chapter 7

THE HISTORY OF JOHN DALTON'S SONS & DAUGHTERS

Chapter 6  Chapter 7   Chapter 8    Back to The Dalton Chronicles

The Children of John Dalton Sr.

Margaret Dalton, born 1792.

Sarah (Sally) Dalton, born 1796.

Henry Dalton, born 1797.

John Dalton Jr. born 1801.

Elizabeth Dalton, born 1803.

Simon Cooker Dalton, born 1806.

Jemima Dalton, born 1808.

Charles Dalton, born 1810.

Harriet Dalton, born 1812

These Dalton histories are not in order of birth.

The History of Henry Dalton, 1794 – 1833:

First Son of John Dalton Sr. & Elizabeth Cooker.

Henry Dalton was born about 1794 in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, and was the first son of John Dalton Sr. and Elizabeth Cooker Dalton. He moved with his family to Wysox, Bradford Co., Pennsylvania some time around 1805. He married Elizabeth (Betsy) Green about 1818. She was born on March 10th, 1803, in Wilke-Barre, Luzerne Co. Penn.

While trying to cross the Susquehanna River in April of 1833, during the spring high water season, Henry Dalton drowned. His widow moved to Michigan with the other Dalton's. She died on Oct. 24, 1875 in Chester, Howard Co. Iowa.

The following paragraph is taken from the John Dalton Sr. History:

"In April of 1833, a tragedy over took the Dalton Family. One of John Dalton's sons, Henry Dalton drowned attempting to cross the Wysox Creek near its confluence with the Susquehanna River during the spring high water season. It would be several more years before the Dalton clan would understand that the Susquehanna River would forge their destiny. Looking back and knowing the fate of these men, one wonders whether they had already heard the rumors, or read the gossip, or had any inkling of the gospel storm swirling around them. Would the John Dalton family have accept the gospel restored to earth when Joseph Smith & Oliver Cowdery baptized each other in the Susquehanna River, some 50-60 miles from their home on May 15, 1829. After the organization of the LDS Church in 1830, one of the first branches was in Columbia, Bradford Co. Pennsylvania, which is less than 35 miles from the Wysox area"

We don't know if Henry Dalton was ever recovered from the river, but if he was he's probably buried somewhere on the Dalton farm, but also could be buried in the Church Cemetery. This cemetery is located behind the Wysox Presbyterian Church. The first burials in Wysox were made on the slope toward the river. According to the Memorial Paper, written by Edward E. Hoagland for the Centennial of 1928. "When the railroad was put through this valley in 1869, it became necessary to remove the cemetery that was near Dr. Madill's, and many of the families who had ancestors buried there had them removed to the cemetery back of the church. There were few costly markers in those days, and most of the graves were marked by a stone of local origin that was not hard enough to withstand the erosion of the elements. Hence, it is to be lamented there is a section of this cemetery where it cannot be determined who is buried there, for there are no inscriptions remaining on the markers.”

Not much is known about Henry Dalton because he died at the age of 39, two years before all the Dalton family moved to Michigan. Would he have turned out like his younger brothers and joined the LDS Church like they did? He only married one wife & had 6 children by her, three sons and three daughters.

The first son was named after his father & grandmother. John Green Dalton was born in June of 1819 in Wysox Township, Bradford County Pennsylvania. He died as far as we know about 1845 in Wheatland, Kenosha Co., Wisconsin. John Green Dalton married Minerva J. Parmenton.

The next child was a girl named Jane Lucy Dalton, born October 1822 in Conklin, Broome County, New York. She married Joseph Utter Searle on December 26, 1837, in Wisconsin and they had 8 children. Jane Lucy Dalton died on October 1, 1895, in Chehalis, Lewis County Washington.

From Jane Lucy's obituary in the Oct. 18, 1895 Chehalis, Washington Bee:

"Died in Chehalis, Oct. 1st, 1895, Mrs. Jane L. Searle of Paralysis. Deceased was born in Conklin, Broome Co., New York Oct. 7th 1821 and was therefore 74 years of age at the time of her death. She was married to Joseph U. Searle Dec. 26, 1838. In 1856 they removed to Wisconsin. The country was very new and full of hardships, yet their home was ever cheerful and full of sunshine. Being left a widow in July 1876, Mrs. Searle disposed of her home and lived with her children. In June 1881 she turned her face westward to visit a daughter, Esther Searles Benson, who was the first wife of Simon Benson. (He was a Portland, Oregon timber baron) who was very sick with TB, caught in the logging camps, of which she died on August 28, 1891 in Colfax. She landed in Portland, Oregon July 3rd, 1881. She came to Chehalis Jan. 1st 1883, since that time she has made Chehalis her home. She was the mother of thirteen children:

Mrs. Angeline Borman of Colfax, A.N. Searle and Mary Randall of Lynxville, Wisc, and Mrs. David W. [Lorette] Drew of this city are all that survive. She has been a devoted Christian for over forty years, at the time of her death she was a member of the Episcopal Church. She was also a member of the order of the Eastern Star under whose auspices her funeral was conducted.

Henry and Elizabeth's second child was also born in Conklin, New York and was named Henry Simon Dalton. Henry's birth date was on April 3, 1824 and he moved back to Wysox with his parents before he traveled to Michigan with the rest of the Dalton's in 1835. Henry married Elizabeth Jane Kittleman of Downington, Chester County, Pennsylvania on March 12, 1848 in California. They then moved to Utah to be with Henry's uncles, the Dalton brothers. (Read the history of Henry Simon Dalton in the another chapter of this book.)

History of the town of Conklin, Broone County New York:

The town of Conklin was formed from the old town of Chenango, March 29, 1824. A part of the town of Windsor, was taken off in 1831, and a part of the same town was annexed to Conklin in 1851. Conklin is one of the southern tier of towns and lies west of the center of the county, its eastern boundary being formed by the Susquehanna River. The surface is generally hilly, the summits of the hills rising from 400 to 600 feet above the valley; their declivitous generally terminate quite abruptly on the river, along which is in places a broad intervals. The hills rising from the West Side of the river are quite steep. The town is watered by several small streams tributary to the Susquehanna, and Big Snake creek flows through the town in an easterly direction, a little south of the center, through a narrow valley, which is bordered by steep hills. The Little Snake Creek flows across the southeast corner. The soil of the town upon the summits of the hills is a hard, clay and gravel loam, largely intermixed with fragments of slate. In the valley it is a deep, rich alluvium and gravelly loam. The town is the smallest in the county and covers an area of 14,858 acres.

Henry Dalton had moved back to Wysox when his next child was born. Her name was Maria C. Dalton and was born on Feb. 19, 1827, in Wysox, Bradford Co. Pennsylvania. She married Robert Densmore Titcomb of Salem, New Hampshire in 1854. They had 2 children. Maria C. Dalton died on Feb. 22, 1896 in Lemas, Iowa.

Number 5 child was named Sarah E. Dalton, born Sept. 15, 1829 in Wysox, Pennsylvania. Sarah married Jonathan Hale of Steuben Co., New York on Feb. 18, 1850 in Bloomfield, Wisconsin. They had 5 children. Sarah Dalton Hale died, October 25, 1901 in Tripoli, Bremer Co. Iowa.

The last child was a son, Oremus Willard Dalton who was born in Wysox Pennsylvania on June 19, 1832. He was less than a year old when his father drowned.

Oremus married Victoria Elizabeth Buckland of Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence Co., New York on December 24, 1844 somewhere in Iowa. They had 8 children.

Oremus Willard died in April of 1914 in Trosacks, Saskatchewan, Canada.

Henry moved his young family to Conklin, Broome Co. NY sometime after his first son was born in Wysox in 1819. Conklin, NY is just across the border from Bradford County Pennsylvania.

Henry Dalton is listed in the 1820 & 1825 Federal Census of Broome Co. NY. and does not appear on the 1820 Tax rolls of Wysox Township.

Next we find of Henry Dalton is back in Wysox Township on the 1826

Tax rolls. (See the history of Henry's father, John Dalton Sr.)

Why did Henry Dalton move to New York from about 1819 to 1826? To find work maybe.

The following is taken from the history of John Dalton Sr. It lists Henry Dalton.

Most of the Dalton family joined the First Presbyterian Church of Wysox. This Church was first organized on Nov. 29th, 1827 by those members of the Presbyterian Church of Wysox who preferred the Presbyterian form of government. The church only existed until Sept. 29th, 1830 when it united with the Congregational Church, which in the meantime had adopted the Presbyterian format of government, so that the two Presbyterian Church's came one under the name of the "Old Presbyterian Church of Wysox". The Church leaders decided they needed a bigger Church building, so they asked their members to "subscribe" to the building fund. Church records show:

Those members who subscribed amounts under the first column heading for the "Old Presbyterian Church" is as follows:

John Dalton Jr. $25

Simon Cooker Dolton $10

Moses Varguson $10 (husband of Jemima Dalton)

Charles V Dalton $10 (the v in the name is not known)

Lloyd Merithew $10 (Family member of Stephen Potter Merithew, husband of Margaret Dalton

John Varguson $10 (Husband of Elizabeth Dalton)

Stephen Cranmer $10 (Family member of Rebecca Cranmer, wife of John Dalton Jr.)

The second column shows the names of members who agreed to transfer, and who paid supplementary subscriptions:

John Dalton

Henry Dalton, a "Methodist" who paid $10

Copies of pages of the original Tax Book that shows Henry Dalton on the tax rolls of Wysox Township. There are separate pages for each year.

These taxes are listed under the heading of:

Real & Personal Property & Occupation.

Year: 1818

Henry Dalton - Single freeman, value $100

2 oxen, value $30

1 cow, value $11

Amount $141

Tax .70

This is the first time Henry Dalton shows up in the tax records. He is about 21 years old and was taxed .70 for being single!

Now this is an interesting item about Henry Dalton. He is listed in the Wysox Township

Tax Rolls starting in 1818. He married Elizabeth Green about 1818. So he has gotten married after he paid his taxes to Wysox Township.

Year: 1819

Henry Dalton - 2 oxen, value, $$35

1 horse, value, $35

Amount $70

Tax .35

(Henry Dalton and family move to Conklin Township, Broome Co. NY.)

Year: 1826. This is the year that Henry Dalton is back in Wysox.

Henry Dalton - 2 cows, value, $24.

Tax, (Blank)

Year: 1828

Henry Dalton - 3 oxen, value, $40

1 cow, value, $10

Tax, (Blank

Year: 1829

Henry Dalton - 3 oxen, value, $45

1 cow, value, $12

Tax, (Blank)

So this ends the history of Henry Dalton of Wysox Pennsylvania. More will be added as we search the records we search for our Dalton family of Pennsylvania.

The History of John Dalton Jr. 1801 – 1885

The second Son of John Dalton Sr. & Elizabeth Cooker.

John Dalton, Jr., was born July 10, 1801, in Wyoming, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, on the right bank of the Susquehanna River, 4 miles above Wilke-Barre and is in a fertile valley of its own name. He moved with his family from Luzerne Co. to Bradford County sometime around 1807 and lived on a farm his father, John Sr. named “Dalton Hollow” in the village of Wysox, on the little Wysox Creek. The Little Wysox Stream empties in the Susquehanna River, only a few miles where the farm was located.

The Susquehanna River has places on its banks, which are sacred to the descendants of John Dalton family. For it was here that the restoration of the Aaronic Priesthood took place near Harmony, Pennsylvania. The Melchizedek Priesthood was restored somewhere near the river between Harmony and Colesville, New York. The first of these great events took place on May 15, 1829. The distance between Harmony and Wysox is about 45 miles. Did the Dalton Family hear about this new religion at this time?

John Jr. had blue eyes and black hair. He was a skilled blacksmith and a farmer and he taught these skills to his sons. It is recorded that when he died at age 84, not one of his teeth was bad. Another thing we know about him is that he had a great love for fine horses and passed that interest to his sons, grandsons.

On January 21, 1822, he married Rebecca Turner Cranmer at Towanda, Bradford County, Pennsylvania. She was the daughter of John and Ketura Cranmer. Rebecca was an intelligent and cultured woman and participated in all the trials and hardships of pioneer life with her husband. It was in Wysox Township where their children were born and raised into their teenage years. John was a great user of tea, coffee and tobacco, and was accustomed to a drink of whiskey after dinner.

The 1835 Tax Assessments of Wysox Township lists John Dalton Jr. owned a ½ interest in a saw mill with his brother Charles listed as owning the other half. This saw mill had a value of 70 dollars.

John Dalton Jr. moved to Washtenaw Co. Michigan sometime after Oct. of 1835. John Jr. either lived on his brother Simon’s land or he had a place of his own, we need to find

A land record to prove this.

Some time in 1838 John and his family moved west into Wisconsin. John Dalton Jr. purchased 80 acres of land in Geneva Township, Walworth Co., in the Territory of Wisconsin in 1839. Once again they were pioneers. Walworth Co. is 500 feet above Lake Michigan, which is east of the county. The soil was virgin and the roads were only Indian paths. John Jr. and Rebecca and their seven children had to cut and saw logs for a new home, till the unbroken soil for planting, dig a new well, build another out house and put in new fencing. Simply put, they had to scratch out a new life for themselves in this new frontier. We know little of what their lives involved the few years they lived there. They were newly baptized members of the Church. John Dalton Jr. was baptized on the 15th, of July 1838 by Moses Smith.

There is a deed recorded to John Dalton in Walworth Co. Territory of Wisconsin, dated March 5, 1839. (FHL – Film # 1435076, item 3.)

On June 19, 1842, John Dalton purchased a second parcel of land consisting of 40 acres from his nephew, John Green Dalton. John Green was the brother of Henry Simon Dalton. One interesting fact is that on this above deed our John Dalton Jr. did not write his name, but signed it with an X. His wife Rebecca however wrote her own name. John Dalton Jr. over the next few years probably learned to write.

On June 1st, 1843, John Jr. sold his land and house and moved to Nauvoo, Illinois. Having good horses and wagons, he hauled materials for the building of the historic Temple there. John and family purchased two plots of land, where they built an abode house, as did the other Dalton's.

After John and Rebecca and their family arrived in Nauvoo they found out that the Prophet Joseph Smith was having difficulties with the state of Missouri and was arrested a number of times that year on trumped up charges. He was also having problems with Sidney Rigdon and other who had once been faithful.

It was into this environment that our Dalton's came when they moved to Nauvoo. The work on the Temple and the City also never ceased. John Dalton's donated many days helping to build this Temple. There were at that time 15,000 people living in Nauvoo.

In Nauvoo in 1843 a petition to the United States Congress was signed by the following Dalton family; John and Rebecca Dalton; Harry Dalton; Charles and Mary E. Dalton.

We all know the story in detail of the things, which transpired those June days. Shortly

After 5 pm. on the 27th of June, Joesph and Hyrum were killed. On the 29th, 10,000 people viewed their bodies. Surely John and Rebecca were among the group that day.

A year and a half after Joseph’s death, our John Dalton Jr. would leave Nauvoo, never to see it again. But before they left they had the privilege of receiving within the Temple walls that for which, they had worked so hard and diligently, their endowments. This date was on Jan. 5th 1845. On the 21st of Jan. they returned to the Temple to be sealed for all time and eternity.

At the time of the call for the Mormon Battalion, John's two sons Henry (Harry) and Edward and his nephew Henry Simon Dalton "whom he had raised" all joined the Battalion. This left John Dalton alone with three teams of horses and loaded wagons without any drivers. He sent for Brigham Young and turned the teams of horses, wagons, and all that was in them over to him to use as he thought for the best. These horses were used by Brigham Young on the first pioneer journey into Utah.

Approximately sometime between Feb. 8 and 18, 1846, John Dalton Jr. and his family were packed and ready to leave Nauvoo for the long trek to the promised land of the Great Salt Lake valley. The group of Saints that John Dalton Jr. and family were with, crossed the frozen Mississippi River and landed on the Iowa side in the Mormon community of Montrose, From there they proceeded to the Sugar Creek encampment, then on to Garden Grove, Iowa. After staying in Garden Grove they went on to Kanesville, or Winter Quarters. (Council Bluffs area) By Dec. 30, 1846 Winter Quarters consisted of 538 log cabins, 83 sod houses and a population of 3,483.

From the Book; "An Enduring Legacy- Move to Winter Quarters:

"After we crossed the river, Brother Anson Call and I concluded to go out about 2 miles to the Puncas camp where my Brother Chandlier Holbrook lived. On the second night out, as our cattle were in the public yard, the Indians took down the fence and drove off seven heads of beef belonging to me. Judson Tolman, Chandlier Holbrook and John Dalton Jr. armed themselves and pursued them for about ten miles.”

John Dalton Jr. and his family crossed the plains from the Missouri River to the Great Salt Lake Valley, with Brigham Young’s First Division (his second trip). The First Division left the Elkhorn River on June 1st, 1848 with the following; 1,229 souls who had 397 wagons, 74 horses, 19 mules, 1,275 oxen, 699 cows, 184 loose cattle, 411 sheep, 141 pigs, 605 chickens, 37 cats, 82 dogs, 3 goats, 10 geese, 2 hives of bees, 8 doves and one crow. This company arrived in the Valley on Sept. 20th, 1848. John Jr. bought land on block 32, lot 4, on 6th east between 4th & 5th South. He spent most of his life doing work for the church. John Dalton also managed the Church's Farm while he lived in Salt Lake City.

The LDS Church Farm was so important to the pioneers of the Great Salt Lake Valley, because it was here that almost every able bodied man would donate some of his time working on the Farm in exchange for food and vegetables. The farm was located in the Sugerhouse area of SLC. John Dalton Jr. is listed as a member of the Mill Creek Ward (Source: Taken from a registry of names of persons residing in the various Wards as to Bishop's reports, GSL City, Dec, 28, 1852.)

In 1848, with the arrival of the last wagon train of the season, there were now approximately 5,000 Saints in the Valley. There were at least three forts built at this point. Each of these forts was about half a mile long and 40 rods wide. Within these forts, the Territory of Deseret was organized. The first legislature met here and the first school was taught. For safety purposes these forts is where all the Dalton's would spent their first winter in the Valley. In Feb. of 1849 the residents of the Territory organized a temporary government which they called the "State of Deseret". After many debates, in Sept. of 1850, an act of Congress created the "Territory of Utah." Congress did not make it a State because too many Southern States did not want another Anti-slavery State added to the union. Brigham Young was appointed Governor of the Territory. As far as we know John and Rebecca went immediately into one of these forts when they arrived and would live there for several months.

John Dalton Jr. and his family would make their first home in the Territory in the boundary of the Tenth Ward. In Dec. of 1848, three months after their arrival, John built his first home in that area.

On Jan. 14, 1849, Salt Lake City was divided into 17 Church Wards, each containing nine city blocks. The Dalton's were assigned land a few blocks east and south of the old fort.

“Each family received without cost a 1.25-acre city plot, one of eight in each 10-arce

Block. Men with plural wives could claim additional lots”

For protection, a fence was built around the Ward boundaries. 10th Ward records show:

“John Dalton, Edward Dalton, Charles Dalton, Henry Dalton donated, self and teams for two days work." The 10th ward was in the Salt Lake Stake, later changed to the Liberty Stake.

Source: History of the LDS Church.

John’s first little cabin was in block 32, Lot 4, which bordered between fourth south and fifth south and between sixth east and seventh east. The other Dalton families settled next door, with Brother Charles on Lot 5, Harry Dalton on Lot 2 and Edward Dalton on Lot 3.

John’s brother Simon Cooker Dalton built his home on Block 40, Lot 5. His son Charles Wakeman Dalton was two doors away on Lot 7.

From the 10th ward records; Salt Lake City:

"Meeting of the citizens of the 10th Ward, Bishop Pettingrew stated the object of meeting was to see who would work on the Bowery, or The Tabernacle, to prepare it for the conference and the work turned to Tithing. Work done on the Bowery, John Dolton- donated 100 feet of lumber and 20 feet of slabs. Charles Dalton- donated 10 feet of slabs."

Also: " The amount of work done by each individual on the farm;

John Dolton, 10 days worked.

Henry Dolton, 10 days worked"

Also: Other Tithings due and paid;

sum total due paid

John Dalton $540 $54 paid in full

Charles Dalton $155 $15.50 credited $15

Simon C. Dalton $928 $92.80 paid

This may have been just the money they earned working at the Church Farm. They may have had other forms of employment elsewhere.

A blessing given to John Dalton Jr., May 26th 1849:

No. 532:

May 26th 1849-

A blessing by John Smith Patriarch upon the head of John Dalton, son of John & Betsy, born Co. Bradford, Penn. July 10, 1805. Brother John, by the authority vested in me to bless the fatherless I lay my hands upon thy head in the name of Jesus and seal upon thee a fathers blessing thou art a lawful heir to all the blessings of the new and everlasting covenant because thou art of the house of Jacob through the loins of Ephraim and an heir to the Priesthood which was sealed upon his head thou art called to preach the Gospel according to the desire of thine heart which is left to thy choice how far thou wilt travel and in what part of the Vineyard thou wilt labour thou shalt be blessed in thy labours and be instrumental in rolling forth the cause of Zion the Spirit whispereth that thou art more particularly called to be a Counsellor the house of Israel to set in order things that are wanting in the church and to preside over a stake of Zion thou shalt be able to counsel in wisdom to do justice at all times in all places according to the order and laws of the Priesthood thou shalt be exalted for thy wisdom and thy word shall be esteemed as the word of the Lord by multitudes of the Saints thy name shall be had in honor among the Saints forever through thy Posterity which shall be very numerous and the excellent of the Earth, thy years shall be according to thy faith to enjoy all the blessings of heaven and earth and all the riches of eternity which is in the power of the father to give inasmuch as thou art faithful thou shalt inherit all these blessings in common with thy companion in life or in death. Even so Amen.

Rob Campbell Recorder.

In the fall of 1849 it was ordered by the Presidency of the Church that Parley P. Pratt with a company of 50 men, should explore the Southern part of the Territory, three of these 50, were Charles Wakeman Dalton, John Dalton Jr., and John D Lee.

Source: From the Book "The Pioneers of the Southwest and Rocky Mountain Regions". Vol. 5. by Joseph Fish - Pioneer (1840- 1926)

We find John Dalton Jr. in "Parowan, Iron Co. Utah in May of 1851, Where as:

On Friday, May 1851, the brethren met at the Council House at 9:00 o'clock, where William Davis was appointed chairman and James Lewis, clerk. We organized the City. The following Officers were unanimously selected: Mayor, Wm. H. Davis; Others, 9th Councilor, JOHN DALTON. President Young gave some excellent instruction on government, entitled "Union is Power".

We think that John Dalton Jr. was still a member in good standing in the 10th Ward in Salt Lake City in Dec. of 1851. This 10th Ward record shows that he paid his tithing up.

"This certifies that John Dolton has paid his Property Tithing in full in accordance with vote of confidence, Sept. 10th, 1851. GSL City, Dec. 29th, 1851. W. Clayton, Recorder."

Also: "This certifies that John Dolton has paid his Labour Tithing in to Sept. 1st, 1851. GSL City, Dec. 29th, 1851. W. Clayton."

Source: Historian's Office Library; film, Tenth Ward, Salt Lake Stake, Records of Members 1851-1866. Historical Record 1849-1855.

John Dalton Jr. then sold his house in Salt Lake City and settled in Parowan, Iron Co. Utah.

Note: Some time in 1858, Zion Canyon was discovered by Nephi Johnson, John Dalton Jr. James Jennings and other Mormon pioneers, who rode up the canyon as far as present Zion Stadium. Source of this fact is mention is a few history books. If you visit Zion Canyon and view the film they show in the large theater, you will hear that only Nephi Johnson’s is named as the only discoverer of Zion Canyon.

John Dalton Jr. in Salt Lake City:

On orders from the Presidency of the Church: Nov. 10th, 1849:

“On motion, resolved that an assistant supervisor of streets be appointed in each ward of the city, to repair and keep in repair the streets of the same, and the following persons were appointed assistant supervisor for their respective wards; to wit:

10th Ward: John Dalton Jr. (Others Listed)

Source; Book: "The State of Deseret"

The 1850 Utah census shows John and Rebecca living together. John had married his second wife, Ann Hodgkinson on May 19th 1850. Henry Dalton and his young wife were living next door.

John Dalton Jr. decided to follow the teachings of his church and practiced polygamy for the first time. Lets now list all of John Dalton's wife's and the children by each one;

Below is listed the wife's and all the children of each that we know by records passed on to us.

John Dalton Jr. & Rebecca Cranmer: Married January 21 1822 in Towanda, Bradford Co. Pa.

1- Ellen Dalton, born Sept. 6 1823 in Wysox, Pa.

2- Henry (Harry) Dalton, born Jan. 10 1825 in Wysox, Pa..

3- Edward Dalton, born March 23 1827 in Wysox, Pa.

4- Harvey Dalton, born in 1828 in Wysox, Pa.

5- Danial Henry Dalton, born March 3 1829 in Wysox, Pa.

6- Elizabeth Dalton, born 1831, in Wysox, Pa.

7- Amanda Delilah Dalton, born Oct. 10, 1832 in Wysox, Pa.

8- Sophia Milissa Dalton, born Jan. 22 1835 in Wysox, Pa.

John Dalton Jr. & Ann Elizabeth Hodgkinson: Married May 19 1850 in SLC, Utah.

There were no children.

John Dalton Jr. & Lydia Goldthwait Knight: Married August 13 1851 in SLC, Utah

1- Artimesia Dalton, born Jan. 22 1852 in SLC, Utah.

John Dalton Jr. & Ann Casbourne Williams: Married August 23 1856 in SLC, Utah.

1- Margaret Dalton, born July 11 1857 in SLC, Utah.

2- Mary Ann Dalton, born Oct. 11 1860 in SLC, Utah.

3- Jemima Dalton, born Nov. 15 1861 in SLC, Utah.

4- Mirian Dalton, born Feb. 1 1864 in Virgin City, Utah.

5- David William Dalton, born July 25 1868 in Virgin City, Utah.

6- Ellen Latisha Dalton, born Sept. 22 1872 in Rockville, Utah.

John Dalton Jr. & Letitia Williams: Married Nov. 1 1856 in SLC, Utah.

1- Zina D. Dalton, born June 12 1858 in SLC, Utah.

2- Aaron D. Dalton,born Dec. 30 1859 in SLC, Utah.

3- Orley Dalton, born April 18 1862 in East Mill Creek, Utah.

4- Rosilpha Dalton, born June 18 1864 in Virgin City, Utah.

5- George A. Dalton, born August 26 1866 in Virgin City, Utah.

6- Mary A. Dalton, born Feb. 10 1870 in Virgin City, Utah.

7- Hyrum Dalton, born July 2 1872 in Virgin City, Utah.

John Dalton Jr. & Mariann Catherine Gardiol: Married Feb. 1 1857 in SLC, Utah.

1- Jared Dalton, born Jan. 22 1858 in SLC, Utah.

2- John J. Dalton, born Nov. 11 1859 in SLC, Utah.

3- Melvina Dalton, born April 10 1861 in SLC, Utah.

4- Brigham Dalton, born Feb. 9 1863 in Parowan, Utah.

5- Lorenso Dalton, born Jan. 16 1865 in Virgin City, Utah.

6-Alonso Dalton, born Nov. 14 1867 in Virgin City, Utah.

7- Vilate Dalton, born April 27 1872 in Virgin City, Utah.

Here is the names of John Dalton's children in order of birth.

1- Ellen, Sept. 6 1823, Wysox Pa.

2- Henry, Jan. 10 1825, Wysox Pa.

3- Edward, Mar. 1827, Wysox Pa.

Harvey Dalton, born in 1828 in Wysox, Pa.

4- Daniel, Mar. 3 1829, Wysox Pa.

5- Elizabeth Dalton, born 1831, in Wysox, Pa.

6- Amanda, Oct. 1832 ,Wysox Pa.

7- Sophia, Jan. 22 1835, Wysox Pa.

8- Artimesia, Jan. 22 1852, SLC Utah.

9- Margaret, July 11 1857, SLC Utah.

10- Jared, Jan. 22 1858, SLC Utah.

11- Zina, June 12 1858, SLC Utah.

12- John J., Nov. 11 1859, SLC Utah.

13- Aaron, Dec. 30 1859, SLC Utah.

14- Mary Ann, Oct. 11 1860, SLC Utah.

15- Melvina, April 10 1861, SLC Utah.

16- Jemima, Nov. 15 1861, SLC Utah.

17- Orley, April 1862, East Mill Creek Utah.

18- Brigham, Feb. 9 1863, Parowan, Utah.

19- Mirian, Feb. 1864, Virgin City Utah.

20- Rosilpha, June 18 1864, Virgin City Utah.

21- Lorenso, Jan. 16 1865, Virgin City Utah.

22- George, August 16 1866, Virgin City Utah.

23- Alonso, Nov. 14 1867, Virgin City Utah.

24- David, July 25 1868, Virgin City Utah.

26- Mary, Feb. 10 1870, Virgin City Utah.

27- Vilate, April 27 1872, Virgin City Utah.

28- Ellen, Sept. 22 1872, Rockville Utah.

So as you see from the above birth dates of John Dalton Jr. children, he lived is Wysox, SLC, East Mill Creek, Parowan, Virgin City and then Rockville Utah.

If you look at the date of birth of John Dalton's last child, Sept. 22 1972 you will see he was a very old man of 71!

In the 1850 census, living in the same neighborhood with John and Rebecca was his brother, Charles, wife Mary and their first four children. Living next to them were Charles Wakeman Dalton, his wife Juliet and their family.

Sometime during this time John Dalton Jr. was appointed to manage the Church’s farm in the Sugarhouse area of SLC. John spent ten or eleven years off and on running this farm.

It was located where the present day Forest Dale Golf Course is at 7th South & 2400th, East.

The following notes about the Church farm were copied from a book at the Sons of the Utah Pioneers Library in SLC.

June 10, 1849 – the Bishops met in council and agreed to fence a field around the Church farm.

April 28, 1856 – It was a cool day in SLC. The California mail arrived at 3:40 PM. Brother Dalton of the Church farm reports that a worm, which he thinks is the wire worm, is destroying in large quantities of this years wheat.

August 13, 1862 – Results of election in SLC count farmer’s precinct – John Dalton was elected fence retriever. It appears the John Dalton Jr. managed the entire Church farm property in the name of Brigham Young, who of course held it for the church. The total acreage was 2,297 Acres.

On ward records of May 1852, John and his families are shown as belonging to the Mill Creek Ward. This was in the Sugarhouse area.

The 1860 Utah Census shows the John Dalton Jr. family living in Sugarhouse, about where the present 21st So. Highland Blvd. is at. John is managing the Church farm there. John's property is valued at $2000.

John Dalton age 58 born in Penn.

Rebecca age 64 born in Penn.

Letitia age 25 born in Wales

Mary age 20 born in Italy

Ann age 28 born in Eng.

Susanna age 4

Jared age 2

John J.

Aaron

Mary Ann

Zina

In the fall of 1862 John Dalton Jr. was called to the Cotton Mission in Southern Utah by Brigham Young to raise cotton. He settled in the little town of Virgin City. Virgin City was the first town site chosen on the Virgin River. The word, city was used in connection with the name of the river as a name of the town, to make it easier to designate which was which whenever it was recorded. It was called Pocketville by the Indians because it was situated in a low spot or hole on the bank of the Virgin River about twenty miles west of Zion Park in Washington County.

About 1864 John Dalton Jr. and half a dozen other men with their families settled on the north side of the Rio Virgin River, about a mile and a half above Virgin. They named this settlement Dalton, at the mouth of what become known as Dalton Wash. They still belonged to the Virgin Ward and cooperated with the Virgin people in building canals to their respective farms but were considered as a separate settlement. After two years the place had to be abandoned because of Indian troubles, and was never resettled.

Source: "Our Pioneer Heritage, Mormon Ghost Towns in Washington County

“Dalton” was the name of a small LDS settlement commenced about 1864 by John Dalton and half a dozen other men with their families on the north side of the Rio Virgin, about a mile and a half above Virgin City. The people were members of the Virgin Ward during the time they lived in the area. Some farming and ditching was done, but after about two years the place was abandoned because of Indian troubles, and has never been resettled. John Dalton, a Pennsylvania Dutchman, was with the company of pioneers that entered Salt Lake Valley in 1848. He moved to Parowan in 1851 and to Virgin in 1862, having been called to the Cotton Mission by Brigham Young.

In the 1870 Utah census for Kane Co. and town of Virgin, it is interesting to see that each of John Dalton Jr. wife’s had a place of their own and they were close together.

In 1872, between July and Sept. John moved his family to Rockville, Kane Co., Utah.

Sometime during this time Rebecca left John and moved to Annabella, Utah where she lived out the rest of her life. Rebecca Cranmer Dalton died in Dec of 1875 in Annabella, Piute Co., Utah.

On the 16th of April 1879 a company of men were called to explore the San Juan River Country. The company was named The San Juan Exploring Company. John Dalton Jr. was one of these men.

"On about the first of July, 1879, Silas S. Sudsbury, John Dalton Jr. George Urie, Robert Bullock and Dell McGreger went to Durango Colorado for provisions."

Source: History of Iron County Mission; by Luella Adams Dalton.

John Dalton Jr. later moved his family to Rockville, Washington County. Here he spent the remainder of his life raising his children. On February 5, 1885, he died of debility at the age of 84. He did not have one decayed tooth in his mouth. He was buried in the Rockville cemetery.

Washington County is located in the southwestern corner of Utah. The county was formed on March 3, 1852, by an act of the territorial legislature. It was named for George Washington. Harmony, one of the only settlements in the area at that time, was appointed as the first county seat. The first boundaries of Washington County stretched nearly 600 miles - the entire width of the territory. As the territory was settled the county boundaries changed several times and the county seat was later changed to St. George. The county achieved its present shape and size (2,422 square miles) in 1892. Washington County is bordered by Iron County to the north, Kane County to the east, Nevada to the west, and Arizona to the south. Most of the early residents of the county were Mormon Pioneers and the area was agricultural.

John Dalton Jr. and his family were members of the Rockville ward, Zion Park Stake, Washington Co., Utah, which consists of the Latter-day Saints residing in the little town of Rockville, and also in the village of Shonesburg. Rockville is situated in the narrow Rio Virgin Valley on the north banks of said stream. The farming land belonging to the settlement consists of narrow strips on both sides of the river, where the valley is scarcely a mile wide. The gardens and farms of Rockville are irrigated from the Rio Virgin and its North Fork. Rockville is 10 miles up the Rio Virgin from Virgin City, 20 miles southeast of Toquerville, 15 miles east of Hurricane, the stake headquarters, and 43 miles northeast of St. George. The people of Rockville have always had great trouble in controlling the waters of the Rio Virgin, in which they have built dams every year, which have been washed away just as regularly as they have been built, sometimes several dams in one season. Nevertheless Rockville can boast of the finest location for a town on that river. There are many comfortable private residences in Rockville, consisting of adobe, rock and lumber houses. Rockville is on the main highway leading to Zion Park. Rockville as a settlement dates back to 1861, when it was founded under the direction of the late Apostle Orson Pratt and John C. Hall. The first location made by the settlers was at a place named Adventure, but the present Rockville was selected and surveyed in 1862, and about a dozen L. D. S. families spent the winter of 1862–1863 at Rockville.

The Official LDS Church records of John Dalton Jr.

Source: From the CD: LDS Family Suite 2, by Ancestry Inc. Orem Utah.

Dalton, John

Birth: Dalton, John - Date: July 10, 1801 - Place: Wyoming, Luzerne, PA.   

Parents: Dalton, John - Father: Dalton, John - Mother: Cooker, Betsy.

Death: Dalton, John - Date: January 5, 1885 - Place: Rockville, Washington, UT.

Marriage Information: Dalton, John - Spouse: Cranmer, Rebecca Turner - Date: January 26, 1822 - Place: Towanda, Bradford, PA.           

Children: Dalton, John

1. Dalton, Ellen - September 6, 1823, Bradford County, PA.

2. Dalton, Henry - January 10, 1825,   Bradford County, PA.

3. Dalton, Harvey – 1828, Bradford County, PA.

4. Dalton, Edward - March 23, 1829, Bradford County, PA.

5. Dalton, Elizabeth – 1831, Bradford County, PA.

6. Dalton, Sophia Melissa - January 22, 1835, Bradford County, PA.

7. Dalton, Daniel - March 3, 1829, Wysox, Bradford, PA.

8. Dalton, Amanda Deliah - October 9, 1831, Wysox, Bradford, PA.

Marriage Number 2 Dalton, John - Spouse: Hodgkinson, Ann - Date: May 19, 1850.

Marriage Number 3 Dalton, John - Spouse: Goldthwaite, Lydia - Date: August 13, 1851.

Marriage Number 4 Dalton, John - Spouse: Casbourne, Ann.

Marriage Number 5 Dalton, John - Spouse: Williams, Letitia.

Marriage Number 6 Dalton, John - Spouse: Gardial, Marianne Catherine.

Church Ordinance Data: Dalton, John – Baptism.

Ordained Seventy - Date: October 8, 1844. Officiator: H.C. Kimball

Temple Ordinance Data: Dalton, John – Baptism, Date: March 31, 1964       

Temple: Salt Lake City, Salt Lake, UT.

Endowment - Date: January 5, 1846 - Temple: Nauvoo, Hancock, IL.

Sealed to Parents - Date: May 31, 1882 - Temple: St. George, Washington, UT.

Sealed to Spouse - Date: January 21, 1846 - Temple: Nauvoo, Hancock, IL.

Places of Residence: Dalton, John - Nauvoo, Hancock, IL. 1843-1846

Vocations: Dalton, John – Farmer

Comments: Dalton, John - In 1850, John had a household of 6 with $1,500 in real wealth. In 1860, John had a household of 11 with $1,000 in real wealth and $2,000 in personal wealth. In 1870, John had a household of 2 with $500 in real wealth and $800 in personal wealth.

On the day that John Dalton Jr. received his Endowments in the Nauvoo Temple:

Nauvoo, Hancock Co. Illinois: The City of Joseph

Monday, January 5, 1846:

It was a pleasant morning and many people came early to the temple to receive their ordinances. Ordinances began at 8:45 a.m. There were one hundred four people who received them this day.

Brigham Young was feeling better. He spent the morning hearing letters and reading newspaper articles and giving directions for the business of the day. A letter postmarked in Cincinnati from William Smith (brother of the Prophet) was read which was "scurrilous and slanderous."

When the labors of the day were over at 9:00 pm., Brothers Hanson and Averett played their violin and flute in the Celestial Room and they were soon joined in dance by many. Efforts were made to persuade sixty-five year-old Brother George W. Harris to join in, but "his gravity and superior wisdom forbade him to do so, and he thought that as he had not yet danced in his life, he would not begin at the present time." The dance concluded at midnight.

Brigham Young left the Temple, taking his carriage home. Elder Kimball also left with his wife and others of the Twelve likewise went home this night. It was a frosty night.

Carthage, Illinois:

The county commissioners' court met. Several bills supporting Sheriff Backenstos' (non-Mormon sheriff friendly to the Saints) posse were discussed. The clerk, Mr. Thatcher stated than an injunction had been served on him, which had been issued by the clerk of the circuit court, forbidding any bills to be presented in support of the sheriff. Therefore, he stated that he would not place the bill in the record. The commissioners refused to recognize the legality of the injunction on the grounds that there were no state laws to authorized such an interference with the county commissioner's court.

Sources:

History of the Church, Vol. 7, Ch. 38, p.564.

Heber C. Kimball Journal.

Thomas Bullock Journal, BYU Studies Vol. 31, No 1.

From the History of the Dalton's; Charles Dalton, A Book by Leslie Crunk.

From research and personal Dalton Family Histories; by Rodney G Dalton.

From writings of Hannah Daphne Smith Dalton.

From a book by Lloyd, Murry & Sally Dalton.

 

22 - The History of Simon Cooker Dalton; The third son of John Dalton Sr. and Rodney Dalton’s great-great Grandfather.

Simon Cooker Dalton was born on Jan. 10th, 1806 in Wilkes-Barre Luzerne Co. Pennsylvania, the 7th child of John Dalton & Elizabeth Cooker. The Dalton family moved to Bradford Co. Penn. sometimes around 1807 and lived on a little farm they called "Dalton Hollow". It was near the village of Wysox on the little Wysox Creek. Nothing is known of Simon's childhood, but we can only assume that like all of John Dalton's children he had to do chores, like feeding chickens, collecting eggs, milking cows, planting seeds and pulling weeds in the garden. Simon pumped water from the well, chopped wood for the fireplace to cook and to keep warm. He soon learned to pluck a chicken, slop the pigs and gut out a deer if the family was going to eat. As adults, he and his brothers all worked as blacksmiths, farmers and coopers, all trades they would need to survive in a world none of them could ever dream of.

Simon C. Dalton was 19 years old when he married Anna Wakeman of Wysox.

Source: From “The Settler" a newspaper printed at the time in Bradford County.

There had been many early Dalton family researchers that have had the marriage of Simon Cooker Dalton as married to the wrong “Anna” Why? Because of one early Dalton historian who entered the wrong Anna in the Church records. Then over the years this record was copied over and over again.

Here is the proof that Simon Dalton married Anna Wakeman!

MARRIED,

By Harry Morgan esq, On the 11th inst.

Mr. Egbert Lent to Miss Polly

Stocking; and on the 21st.

Mr. Simon Dalton to Miss Anna Wakman,

All of Wysox township.

Harry Morgan was a Justice of the Peace for Bradford County for 40 years.

The Settler started out as the “Bradford Gazette” in 1813. It was purchased in 1818 by Streeter & Benjamin who renamed it “The Settler” It has been published in Towanda, Bradford Co. up to the present time.

On the next page is a copy of the page from this newspaper, dated August 25, 1825 that shows this marriage.

“MARRIED, By Harry Morgan Esq. on the 21st, Mr. Simon Dalton and Miss Anna Wakeman, all of Wysox Township.”

Simon Cooker Dalton would during the course of his life marry five wives. Yes he became a polygamous after he joined the LDS Church.

Below is listed all of Simon Cooker Dalton's wife’s and children.

Simon Cooker Dalton & Anna Wakeman: Married August 21 1825, Wysox, Bradford Co. Penn.

1- Charles Wakeman Dalton, born July 10 1826 in Wysox, Pa.

2- George Simon Dalton, born Sept. 7 1828 in Wysox, Pa.

3- Sarah Elizabeth Dalton, born July 15 1831 in Wysox, Pa.

4- Henry Harvey Dalton, born July 22 1834 in Wysox, Pa.

5- Marriet Maria Dalton, born May 28 1836 in Sharon, Michigan.

Simon Cooker Dalton & Elnora Lucretia Warner: Married February 6, 1846.

1- Don Carlos Dalton, born Oct. 24 1846 in Nauvoo, Ill.

2- Frances Elnore Dalton, born June 3 1848 in Kanesville, Iowa.

3- Miriam Tersey Dalton, born Mar. 25 1850 in Kanesville, Iowa.

4- Simon Eugene Dalton Sr., born August 1 1852 in Centerville, Utah.

5- John Melvin Dalton, born August 30 1854 in Centerville, Utah.

6- Frank Heber Dalton, born Nov. 4 1856 in Centerville, Utah.

7- Janthis Dalton, born Dec. 6 1858 in Centerville, Utah.

8- Joseph Alvin Dalton Sr., born Dec. 12 in Centerville, Utah.

9- Alonzo Malon Dalton Sr., born May 17 1862 in Centerville, Utah.

10- baby Dalton, born 1865 in Centerville, Utah.

Simon Cooker Dalton & Lura Ann Warner: Married about 1847 in Winter Quarters.

1- Frances Dalton, born 1849 on the Iowa desert.

2- Mary Ann Dalton, born Mar. 29 1850 in SLC, Utah.

Simon Cooker Dalton & Elizabeth Veach: Married July 30 1854 in Centerville, Utah.

1- Luchritta Dalton, born April 12 1856 Centerville, Utah.

2- Zelmora Dalton, born Aug. 4 1857 in Centerville, Utah.

3- Almeron Abrose Dalton, born Jan. 12 1858 in Centerville, Utah.

Simon Cooker Dalton & Louisa Bowen Durham: Married Dec. 30 1865 in Centerville, Utah.

No Children.

The names of Simon Cooker Dalton's children in order of birth.

1- Charles Wakeman Dalton, July 10 1826 in Wysox, Pa.

2- George Simon Dalton, Sept. 7 1828 in Wysox Pa.

3- Sarah Elizabeth Dalton, July 15 1831 in Wysox Pa.

4- Henry Harvey Dalton, July 22 1834 in Wysox Pa.

5- Marriet Maria Dalton, May 28 in Sharon Michigan.

6- Don Carlos Dalton, Oct. 24 1846 in Nauvoo Ill.

7- Frances Elmore Dalton, June 3 1848 in Kanesville Iowa.

8- Frances Dalton, 1849 on the Iowa desert.

9- Miriam Tersey Dalton, Mar. 25 1850 in Kanesville Iowa.

10- Mary Ann Dalton, March 29 1851 in SLC Utah.

11- Simon Eugene Dalton, Aug. 1 1852 in Centerville Utah.

12- John Melvin Dalton, Aug. 30 1854 in Centerville Utah.

13- Luchritta Dalton, April 12 1856 in Centerville Utah.

14- Frank Heber Dalton, Nov. 4 1856 in Centerville Utah.

15- Zelmora Dalton, Aug. 4 1857 in Centerville Utah.

16- Janthis Dalton, Dec. 6 1858 in Centerville Utah.

17- Almeron Abrose Dalton, Jan. 12 1858 in Centerville Utah.

18- Baby Dalton, 1865 in Centerville Utah.

Here is the 1830 Pennsylvania Census Index:

1830 DALTON, HENRY- Bradford County, PA. page 054, Wysox Township

1830 DALTON, JOHN- Bradford County, PA. page 054, Wysox Township

1830 DALTON, JOHN JR.- Bradford County, PA. page 054, Wysox Township

1830 DALTON, SIMON - Bradford County, PA. page 054, Wysox Township

Simon and all the Dalton's packed up and moved to Washtenaw, Co. Michigan sometime after October 7th, 1835. On this date Simon Cooker sold his land and home to Zenaz Thomas from Towanda Township. I have in my possession a copy of a deed or Indenture recording this sale. Simon Cooker Dalton and his older brother John Dalton Jr. together owned this plat of land. They received $400 for the land and the houses on it. Also an interesting fact is that I have a document that shows Betsy Dalton as having some ownership of property in 1835. Was this because her husband had died in Wysox before the trip to Michigan? This is something we need to find out, because its been told that John Dalton died in Michigan before 1838.

The Deed for land sold by Simon Cooker Dalton: Deed Book No. 15- Pages 476 & 477.

JOHN DOLTON JR. & SIMON C. DOLTON - DEED TO ZENAS THOMAS

“This indenture made the 7th, day of October A.D. 1835 Between John Dolton Jr. & Simon C. Dolton of the Township of Wysox, County of Bradford and the State of Pennsylvania of the one part and Zenas Thomas of the Borough of Towanda and State aforesaid of the other part. Whereas that the said John Dolton Jr. & Simon C. Dolton for and in the consideration of the sum of four hundred and sixty dollars to them in hand paid, the receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged, haft granted, bargained and sold, aliened and confirmed and by their present, do grant, bargain and sell, alien and confirm unto the said Zenas Thomas, his heirs and assigns forever all that piece of parcel of land lying and situated in the Township of Wysox, being a purchased from Stephen Furgasan who purchased thru Joesph Atwood from Shephard & Dorrance, formerly in Claverack Township bounded as follows. Beginning at Hickory sapling, adjoining lands of Samuel Coolbaugh & running as a division line between him said Samuel and the said John & Simon Dolton in the division of two and a half lots in Shephard & Dorrance running North 59-3/4 degrees East two hundred and forty one rods to Chestnut sapling, hence North 31 degrees West eighty rods to a Pitch Pine corner, hence South 59-3/4 degrees West two hundred and forty one rods to the corner, half division of lot no.142 hence south 31 degrees East eighty rods to the place of beginning, being one forth of lot no.142, one half of lot no. 143 & one half of lot no. 144 running one hundred seventy three rods near and on the water of the Little Wysox Creek, saving and excepting the undisclosed third part of said lot which is left by the said John & Simon Dolton for the widow of Henry Dolton, deceased, for the use of their children to be taken off the North West side of said lot adjoining Harry Morgan and John Atwood and along their line except the saw mill & privileges of the flowing of waters & mill yard which is loosely conveyed to the said Zenas Thomas being our separate right. The one half only owned with Harry Morgan. The two thirds wherefore of said lot adjoining Samuel Coolbaugh’s line together with the one half of the saw mill as before mentioned is hereby granted by the said John & Simon C. Dolton to the said Zenas Thomas and his heirs assigns for all the described track of land on the two thirds for such rights as belongs to Shephard & Dorrance and the said Zenas Thomas to discharge the lien of the Commonwealth except the dollars which we have paid to Samuel Coolbaugh towards the patenting fee which said Thomas is entitled to count to his use & to and for the only use on behalf of the said Zenas Thomas, and his heirs assigns forever and the said John Dolton Jr. & Simon C. Dolton with warrant by these presents by order we have herewith sit our hand and seals this day before the presence of Harry Morgan, JP.”

John Dolton Jr. (seal)

Simon C. Dolton (seal)

Personally came before me, one of the Justices of the Peace in and for said County – John Dolton Jr. & Simon C. Dolton and acknowledged the above and foregoing tabulation to be their free act & deed and desire the same be recorded as such- witness my hand & seal this 7th, October 1835. Harry Morgan JP (seal)

Zenas Thomas is listed in the 1830 Towanda, Bradford Co. Pennsylvania census and the

1840 Wysox census. So he may have moved onto the land he bought from Simon in 1835.

Simon C. Dalton, Taxable Property, one house valued at 10 dollars.

Source: The 1812 Tax Assessment of Wysox Township. Listed under Taxables.

Simon Dalton packed his family belongings for the trip to Michigan before the rest of the Dalton’s did. This trip was taken in the spring of 1835 and must have been very hard on everyone in the party. Simon bought land for his family to start a new life in a strange frontier. There were many Indian’s in the area that he and his family had to deal with.

Simon must have scouted the area and sent word back to his brothers that he was safe and

There was plenty of timber and water for all.

Again we mention as to why did our Dalton family pack up as a group and move so quickly to the far off county of Washtenaw, Michigan? One reason could have been because of the large and uncut forests that were in this area of Michigan. Remember that they owned a saw mill in Wysox and the history books tells us that the lumber there was running out and there were a lot of new settlers coming into Bradford Co.

The first we find of Simon Dalton in Michigan is this land patent record:

From the book; “Landsmen of Washtenaw County”

“Dolton, Simon C., res. of Bradford Co. Pa., Southeast ¼ of the Northwest

¼ of Section 18, 40 acres, of Township 3 South, Range 3 East.

Patent Date: June 3rd, 1835.”

Note that Simon spelled his name, Dolton and the others spelled theirs, Dalton.

This plat of land is in Sharon Township, which is directly west of Freedom Township.

So as you can see, our Dalton’s were in Washtenaw Co. and we first thought that they settled in Freedom Township, but in fact, at least Simon Cooker Dalton first bought property in Sharon Township.

Sharon, Washtenaw County: Lewis C. Kellam and Daniel C. located the first land in the area in 1830, but Ira Anabil and John Bessey became the first settlers in 1831. The settlement was known as Peppergrass until the township was organized in 1834 and named Sharon. Sharon has also had various names over the years; Sharon Plain, Sharonville and today is known as Sharon Hollow.

Notice the name Ira Anabil. I believe that this name of Anabil in Washtenaw Co. Is the reason that past Dalton researchers has gotten the marriage of Simon C. Dalton to Anna Annabelle wrong!

Ira Anabil was from New England and then moved to Michigan. I couldn't not find a daughter named Ann, Anna, or Annabelle anywhere.

Simon’s family lived and farmed on this first piece of land for about 7 years before he was to moved again, this time to Nauvoo to join the other Saints. See below.

Simon Cooker Dalton

 

This is a copy of the official Land Plat Record of Simon Cooker Dalton:

“The UNITED STATES OF AMERICA” - certificate # 19263

To all to whom these presents shall come, Greetings:

Where as: SIMON C. DOLTON, of Washtenaw County, Michigan.

Has deposited in the General Land Office of the United States, a certificate of the Register of the Land Office at Detroit, whereas it appears that full payment has been made by said SIMON C. DOLTON, according to the provisions of the Act of Congress of the 24th, of April, 1820, entitled, “An Act making further provisions for the public lands” for:

“The west half of the southeast quarter of section 24 in Township 3 south, of Range 2 east, in the District of lands, subject to sale at Detroit, Michigan, Meridian-Toledo Strip, containing 80 acres in Jackson County”

According to the official plat of the survey of the said lands, returned to the General Land Office by the Surveyor General, which said tract, has been purchased by the said SIMON C. DOLTON,

Now Know Ye, that the United States of America, in consideration of the Premises, and in conformity with several acts of Congress, in such case made and provided, Have Given and Granted, unto the said, SIMON C. DOLTON , and to his heirs, the said tract above described: To Have and to Hold the same, together with all the rights, privileges, immunities and appurtenances of whatsoever nature, thereunto belonging, unto the said,

SIMON C. DALTON and to his heirs and assigns forever.

In Testimony Whereof, I, MARTIN VANBUREN President of the United States of America, have caused these letters to be made Patent, and the Seal of the General Land Office to be hereunto affixed,

Given under my hand, at the City of Washington, the Second day of August in the year of our Lord, one thousand eight hundred and THIRTYSEVEN.

By the President, MARTIN VANBUREN

By: A. VANBUREN Sec’y

Jos. J. Wilson, Acting, ad interim, Recorder of the General Land Office

You will note that Simon Cooker Dalton has now moved west into Jackson County.

The 1840 U.S. census in Grass Lake, Jackson Co. Michigan lists the family of Simon Cooker Dalton and his mother Elizabeth Cooker Dalton. While in Michigan, most of the Dalton’s joined the Latter-day Saints Church. Simon C. Dalton was baptized on April 13th, 1842 by William Burton.

Grass Lake, Jackson County Michigan:

David Sterling and his family were squatters here when a party from Niagara County,

New York. Lorenzo D. Hale became the first post master on Dec. 30 1839. Glass Lake was not incorporated as a village until 1870. Grass Lake is named after the lake lying just north of the village.

After living in Michigan for approximately 8 years, Simon C. Dalton, and his family moved to Nauvoo, Illinois, sometimes between of 1842 & 1843, where they became acquainted with the Prophet Joseph Smith. Simon received an elder’s license in Nauvoo on Oct. 30th, 1843. After locating at least some sort of temporary housing in Nauvoo, one of the first things Simon had to do was to register for the Militia. The law required that every able bodied male, who became residents of Nauvoo, must join the Nauvoo Legion. (The Mormon Legion was organization on Feb. 3rd, 1841) Charles and Simon C. Dalton were tenants at the Nauvoo Hotel in Room # 37. In Nauvoo all the Dalton brothers worked on the new Temple & Nauvoo House. In Nauvoo, Simon's trade was that of a knife-maker, guard and a blacksmith. When any undesirable people came to the city, he and others got together with knifes and while whittling on sticks and whistling, they would gather about the undesirables and invite them to leave Nauvoo. This purpose was often accomplished. He was also a postmaster as other documents show. While in Nauvoo, Simon, his son Charles W. and Henry S. Dalton petitioned the Free Mason Society for membership. They were all accepted.

Source: From a book by Leslie Dalton Crunk.

The John Dalton Book of Genealogy tells us that Simon's wife did not go to Nauvoo with him, but Church Records show that Anna Dalton was in Nauvoo with Simon and received her endowments in the Nauvoo Temple on Jan. 10th, 1846. Simon and Anna were not sealed to each other at this time, because we think Simon had broached Plural marriage to her and she refused him. She took the three younger children and went back to Michigan where she would live out the rest of her life not knowing much about where her older children were.

Simon C. Dalton received his Patriarchal Blessing from John Smith in Nauvoo on Dec. 27, 1845. Simon was married to his second wife, Elnora Lucretia Warner on Feb 4th 1846 by Heber C. Kimball in the Nauvoo Temple. Simon married his third wife, Elnora's sister Lura Ann Warner sometime during 1848, where we don't know.

The story of the Nauvoo Temple from Feb. 2 1846 to Feb. 8 1846:

On February 2, 1845, Brigham Young announced that temple ordinances would cease. When he came to the temple on the following morning he found a large crowd of people seeking their ordinances. President Young was somewhat frustrated because he knew they had to leave Nauvoo before their enemies could intercept them. He told the brethren that it was not wise to continue and that more temples would be built in the future. He the crowd that he was going to get his wagons started and be off. He walked a distance from the Temple, hoping that the crowd would disperse, but when he returned he found the temple overflowing with people. Looking at the multitude, understanding their anxiety and thirst for knowledge, he decided to continue working in the temple for a few more days. February 7, 1846, was the final day for temple ordinances in the Nauvoo Temple. Work had been performed around the clock for two days. About 600 people received their ordinances on that final day. At least 5,615 Saints were blessed to have received their endowments in the Nauvoo Temple. The brethren then turned their attention to leaving for the west. On February 8, 1846, members of the Twelve knelt around the altar of the temple asking the Lord to bless their move to the west and asked Him to enable them to complete the temple and have it formally dedicated.

While Simon Cooker Dalton and his family was living in Kanesville, Iowa awaiting their turn to join a wagon train for the trip to the Salt Lake Valley, Simon placed an ad in the " Frontier Guardian", a local newspaper for "Blacksmithing". He was trying to make a little extra money for their long journey, which would begin in a few months.

BLACKSMITHING

The undersigned has fitted up a shop, a few doors west of the

Printing Office, and is now prepared to invoke all kinds of work

in the shape of blacksmithing. Persons wishing blacksmithing

done will please give me a call. I feel confident that I can give

satisfaction. All work entrusted to my care will be executed

promptly and in good order.

(Signed) Simon Dolton - Kanesville, March 20th, 1849

Simon Cooker Dalton and family crossed the plains to the Great Salt Lake Valley with the Silas Richards Company. This wagon train left Kanesville, Iowa on July 10th, 1849 with about 100 wagons and arrived in the Salt Lake Valley on Oct. 27th 1849. Simon C. Dalton had one wagon, six oxen, two cows, two loose cattle. Simon's family included:

Simon C. Dalton, age 42.

Elnora L. Dalton, age 27.

Mary R Dalton, age 6.

Charles A. Dalton, age 5.

Francis E. Dalton, age 1

In 1848, with the arrival of the last wagon train of the season, there were now approximately 5,000 saints in the valley. There were at least three forts built at this point. Each of these forts was about half a mile long and 40 rods wide. Within these forts, the Territory of Deseret was organized. The first legislature met here and the first school was taught. For safety purposes these forts is where all the Dalton's would spent their first winter in the Valley. In Feb. of 1849 the residents of the Territory organized a temporary government which they called the "State of Deseret". After much debate, in Sept. of 1850, an act of Congress created the "Territory of Utah." Congress did not make it a State because too many Southern States did not want another Anti-slavery State added to the union. Brigham Young was appointed Governor of the Territory.

On Jan. 14th, 1849, Salt Lake City was divided into 17 Church Wards, each containing nine city blocks. The Dalton's chose land a few blocks east and south of the old fort, near where the present day Liberty Park is now. It was here the 10th Ward was organized on Feb. 22nd, 1848. For protection, a fence was built around the Ward boundaries. 10th Ward records of this time shows: “John Dalton, Edward Dalton, Charles Dalton, Henry Dalton donated, self and teams for two days work"

Simon Cooker Dalton owned Lot #5 on block 40 in Salt Lake City in 1850.

His son Charles Wakeman was two doors away on Lot #7. Simon was a member of the 10th Ward, Salt Lake Stake, Great Salt Lake City. The boundary of the 10th, ward was Third South to the North, Sixth South to the south, Sixth West to the west and Tenth East to the east.

The10th Ward records of Oct. 1851 shows the following Tithing due and paid:

Name Sum Total Due Paid

John Dalton Jr. $540 $54 paid in full

Charles Dalton $155 $15.50 credited $15

Simon C. Dalton $928 $92.80 paid in full

10th Ward Records for S.L.C. Oct. 1851: Simon Cooker Dalton - Tithing due and paid; sum total of $928 paid. $92.80 due. Paid.

Ward records tells us that a meeting was held on September 27th, 1850 regarding the

Awarding of land in the boundaries of Salt Lake City. Our Dalton’s had by this time

Built their cabins on lots laid out by Brigham Young. They owned the following lots:

BLOCK 32 –

HENRY HARRY DALTON LOT 2

EDWARD DALTON LOT 3

JOHN DALTON JR. LOT 4

CHARLES DALTON LOT 5

BLOCK 40 –

SIMON C. DALTON LOT 5

CHARLES W. DALTON LOT 7

The Census of Salt Lake County in 1851 shows:

Head of Family Age Sex Where Born

Simon C. Dalton 45 M Penn.

Anose (sic) 38 F N.Y.

Rosetta (Berry) 7 F N. Y.

Charles (Berry) 6 M N. Y.

Francis 3 M Iowa

Mary Ann 1 F Desert

Rossetta and Charles berry are the children of Simon’s 2nd wife, Elnora Warner Berry Dalton.

Here is a interesting story about the relationship between Simon, Elnore and her first husband, Robert Berry; Copied from a page in Leslie Dalton Crunk’s book; “The History of Charles Dalton”:

“Robert Berry married Elnora Warner in 1842 in Reading, Michigan. They had two children, Mary Rosetta and Charles Alma Berry. This family left Michigan with a caravan for the west to Nauvoo. As the work was scarce in Nauvoo, Robert Berry decided to return to Michigan, leaving his family in Nauvoo with her family who was also in Nauvoo at this time. As Elnora did not receive letters or money from Robert, she was persuaded to believe that he had left her and would never return. Simon Cooker Dalton, who was the postmaster in Nauvoo at this time, become her ardent and persistent suitor and admitted many years later when he was a old man with a family in Utah that he had confiscated her mail!

Meantime Robert Berry returned to Nauvoo to get his family. He found the city deserted and his family gone. It is claimed that so great was his grief that his hair turned white overnight. Robert Berry, not knowing where to find his family returned to Michigan with a broken heart.

Later in life, Robert Berry’s daughter, Rosetta, whose father in-law was on his LDS mission to Michigan, found Robert Berry. Robert then found out about the story of what Simon had done. Robert Berry was heard to tell if he ever-met Simon Dalton, he would kill him! Years later he did go west and to find Simon, and at his field gate in Centerville, Utah, Robert said to Simon, “I have always claimed that I would kill you, but I will let the Lord take care of you”

"The first Blacksmith shops were owned by Simon Cooker Dalton and others.”

Source: From an article appearing in the Deseret News; July 17th, 1931. Calling attention to the low cost of housing in the early days and to Simon Cooker Dalton.

From a muster roll of Company A, Battalion Life Guards, commanded by Major George D. Grant. Mustered in G.S.L. City, May 31st, 1851:

Henry S. Dalton.

George Dalton.

Simon C. Dalton.

Other Dalton Nauvoo Legion records:

Muster Roll of May 29th, 1852:

John Dalton.

Henry Dalton.

Pay roll of a detachment of Caption George D. Grant, Company A. Mounted Rangers, Nauvoo Legion ordered out in pursuit of Shoshone Indians during the month of Sept. and Oct. 1850. We the under-signed, acknowledge to have received of Wm. J. Appleby, pay master, Nauvoo Legion: the sums set opposite of our names respectively in full payment for our services for the times respectively specified.

Charles Dalton - Private - No. of Days 11 - paid $2.50 from Sept. 25th to Oct. 5th, 1850.

Henry Dalton - Private - No. of Days 11 - paid $2.50 from Sept. 25th to Oct. 5th. 1850.

Source: Film # 0485555 at S. L. C Family History Library.

Report of the detachment of Life Guards, Nauvoo Legion, Feb. 19th, 1851:

Commander George D. Grant; Captain Charles H. Kimball; Return Roll:

Simon Dolton, Private - 12 days in service; 2 horses. 17 days in service; 7 horses.

Some time before 1852 Simon C. Dalton moved his family a few miles north to Centerville, Utah to make a permanent home. Simon and Elnora Lucretta Warner had nine children and Elnora died in bed after giving childbirth to their 10th child. This child was never named. Elnora was buried Dec. 5th, 1865, at Centerville.

Simon C. Dalton married his fourth wife, Mary Elizabeth Veach on July 30th, 1854.

Simon Cooker Dalton was baptized on April 13, 1842, by William Burton in Grass Lake, Jackson Co. Michigan. He was confirmed by Charles Dalton. He was ordained a High Priest by Charles Dalton in Centerville, Utah on March 12th, 1854.

Source: From the Centerville Ward, Davis Stake Records.

Simon C. Dalton, Elnore L. Dalton, Charles E. Dalton, Charles Dalton, Rosetta Dalton,

Elizabeth Dalton.

Source: From the Centerville Ward records; 1856-1894, Page 9.

In 1860 Simon Cooker Dalton had a household of 9 people with $2000 dollars in real wealth and $290 dollars in personal wealth. In 1870, Simon had a household of 7 people with $800 in real wealth and $400 in personal wealth.

Source: The 1860, 1870 Utah census.

Simon C. Dalton married his fifth and last wife, Charlotte Louise Durham on Dec. 30th, 1865 in the Centerville, Utah ward and was married by William Reeves.

A story that mentions Simon Cooker Dalton:

“I was Healed”

An account of the healing of my father, William H. Dickson at Centerville, Davis Co. Ut.


“When I was a small boy ten or eleven years of age, I was playing with a companion by the name of Billie Clawson. We were playing on top of a haystack. At the side of the stack was a two-tined pitchfork, with the tines upward and with a pole in between, the tines used as a drop to keep the stack from falling over.

When I went to get down, instead of sliding, I put my head on the stack and keeled over. I then found myself in the terrible predicament of hanging on the fork, the tines entering my body just above the left hip ranging upward. My companion, seeing my predicament and being unable to help me, ran about four rods away, returning in a few minutes with two young ladies, Arilla Stoddard and Cornelia Clawson. Arilla was too frightened and excited to help at all, so it fell to Cornelia to relieve my suffering and lift me off the fork. As soon as I was on the ground I ran home, a distance of about one hundred yards. I fell upon my bed very ill and vomited for about a week. I gradually grew worse and become very weak and emaciated. While everything possible was being done for me at this time, without any warning and without our knowledge, a man came into the room. At this time, mother and I was alone. He ask my mother if he might have the privilege of administering to me by the laying on of hands. She gave her consent at this time saying, “I’ll step across the street to get an elder, brother SIMON DALTON to assist you.” The man replied, “I do not need any assistance” Then stepping up to the couch on which I was lying, knelt down and placed his hands upon my head, an I will never forget the glorious feeling that attended that prayer. My whole being was thrilled as with a mighty power, and I was instantly healed and no scar remained. The man went as he had come. When my mother went to the door to express her thanks to him for what he had done, he was nowhere to be seen. Upon inquire no one had seen him enter or leave our home”

Source: Treasures of Pioneer History: Vol. 4.

Centerville, a little town north of SLC:

As far as we know, only Simon Cooker Dalton and Henry Simon Dalton and their families lived in Centerville. I’m sure this was because of being a part of the first mission sent by Brigham Young to colonize the area. Simon lived here until old age, then moved south to Springville, Utah Co.

Situated some twelve miles north of Salt Lake City, Centerville encompasses the area from Lund Lane on the north to Pages Lane on the south, a distance of 3.3 miles, and extends, with some minor deviations, from the mountains on the east to the shores of the lake.

Thomas Grover, and the Deuel brothers, Osmyn and William, were the first settlers, arriving in early 1848. They were soon followed by other families including Simon Cooker Dalton. There were possibly others of our Daltons that lived here before they moved on. They dragged logs to build homes down the steep mountains. They lacked nails, so many of the homes were held together by wooden pegs or rawhide thongs. Later, some built their houses of adobe, made of clay and straw dried in the sun. More substantial homes were constructed from rocks washed down from the hills or found in the beds of streams.

A fort wall was commenced in 1853 to protect against Indian attack, but the project was soon abandoned. A new wall was started in 1854, made of rocks and dirt. It was six feet wide at the base, and about eight feet high. As the expected Indian attacks never materialized, this second wall also never was completed. Centerville was variously known in the early days as Deuel Creek Settlement, then as Cherry Settlement, and finally as Centerville.

The early small settlements of Utah were characterized by the unplanned mix of men and women from widely scattered places and vastly different cultures who came together for a common cause, and who generally discovered that the talents, skills, and determination that a struggling group of people needed for their survival were to be found among them.

Some had proficiency as carpenters and builders. Some were competent farmers or livestock raisers. Others were or learned to become weavers, blacksmiths, coopers, shoemakers, millers, wheelwrights, seamstresses, teachers, midwives, dentists, merchants, masons, musicians. Many were self-trained and self-taught. Others had served apprenticeships in their homeland. Some of their skills were vital to the actual physical survival of the communities. Others were valuable as respite from their difficult yet often humdrum existence. Simon Cooker Dalton’s main trade was that of a blacksmith.

Many housewives carded wool and spun the yarn on spinning wheels; others had looms for weaving cloth from which they fashioned clothing, bedding, tablecloths, and rag carpets. They made dyes of different colors from various plants in their yards and gardens; they made soap, using their own homemade lye; they made candles. Starch was made from potatoes. They knitted socks, stockings, mittens, gloves, and shawls.

While the women were thus busily engaged, the men made furniture and wooden cooking utensils such as butter bowls, trays, chopping bowls, ladles and spoons, potato mashers, and rolling pins. These items supplemented the few items of china, crockery, iron kettles, skillets, and Dutch ovens that some had brought across the plains with them. Families lived mainly by their own production, and exchanged products with their neighbors. Every home and farm was a little kingdom to itself.

Numerous small enterprises sprang up in Centerville, such as grocery stores, a molasses mill, flour mill, sawmill, blacksmith shops, and a cooperage. There were also shoemakers, tailors, carpenters and cabinetmakers, wheelwright, rock masons, nurseries, a meat market, and even a small silkworm operation. Probably the most important business was the old Centerville Co-op, built at Main and Center in 1869. When money was scarce, housewives traded eggs, butter, and other items for store merchandise. In business for many years, the Co-op finally closed in 1940, and the building has since been used as a lumberyard, restaurant, and law offices.

The first schoolhouse was built of logs in 1851. As the community grew, more and finer schools were built, the older buildings being abandoned, torn down, or converted to different uses. Today, Centerville boasts a large junior high school and four modern elementary schools. Still standing and in use as a residence today is one of Centerville,s oldest and most historic buildings, originally a stage coach station built in 1866 by William Reeves for the Wells Fargo Company. After the Utah Central Rail Road was completed in 1870, Mr. Reeves converted the building into an amusement hall where dances and local dramatic performances were given. It was known as Elkhorn Hall. Religious meetings also were held there during construction of the Centerville ward chapel in 1879-80.

In 1894 the Bamberger Rail Road line reached Centerville on its way from Salt Lake City to Ogden. This line served Davis County with passenger and freight transportation, first by steam power, then by electric power, and finally by diesel. It discontinued operation in 1952. The Utah Light and Traction Company extended its trolley line to Centerville in 1913, with its terminus at Chase Lane. The line was abandoned the line in 1926. Centerville is now served by buses of the Utah Transit Authority.

The streets of Centerville were dark at night until the very early 1920s when a few enterprising citizens took matters into their own hands and installed lights at two street corners. These were crude contraptions consisting of a time clock in a wooden box mounted on a pole, with a long string attached to the alarm, and then running up the pole to a light switch. The nearest homeowner had the assignment of winding the alarm clock in order that the streetlight would be turned on at dusk each evening and off again in the morning. From this first effort a modern street lighting system has evolved.

The religious makeup of Centerville is predominantly LDS. In the spring of 1852 a ward was organized with Sanford Porter as Bishop, with Ozias Kilbourn and Simon C. Dalton as his counselors.

Source: B. H. Roberts, Comprehensive History of the Church, Vol. 3, Chap. 91, page 475 - page 476.

After living in Centerville, Utah, Simon C. Dalton moved his family south of Provo, Utah Co. to Springville. He died there on Oct. 14th, 1885, and is buried in the Springville Cemetery.

Here is the official Church records of Simon Cooker Dalton:

Source: Ancestry, LDS Family History Suite 2 CD-Orem Utah.

Dalton, Simon Cooker

Birth: Dalton, Simon Cooker - Date: January 1, 1806. - Place: Wilkes-barre, Luzerne Co. PA.

Parents: Dalton, Simon Cooker - Father: Dalton, John - Mother: Cooker, Elizabeth

Death: Dalton, Simon Cooker - Date: October 14, 1885. - Place: Springville, Utah, UT.

Marriage Number 2 - Dalton, Simon Cooker -            Spouse: Warner, Elnora Lucretia. - Date: February 4, 1846. - Place: Nauvoo, Hancock, Ill.

Marriage 2 - Children:

Name:  Birth date: Place:

1. Dalton, Carlos Warner       October 24, 1846         Nauvoo, Hancock, Ill.

2. Dalton, Francis Elnora       June 3, 1848    Council Bluffs.

3. Dalton, Miriam Tersey        March 25, 1850 Salt Lake City, Salt Lake, UT.

4. Dalton, Simon Eugene       August 1, 1852            Centerville, Davis, UT.

5. Dalton, John Melvin            August 30, 1854          Centerville, Davis, UT.

6. Dalton, Frank Heber           November 4, 1856       Centerville, Davis, UT.

7. Dalton, Janthus                   December 6, 1858       Centerville, Davis, UT.

8. Dalton, Joseph Alvin          December 12, 1860     Centerville, Davis, UT.

9. Dalton, Alonzo Malon        May 17, 1862  Centerville, Davis, UT.

Marriage Number 3 - Dalton, Simon Cooker - Spouse: Warner, Lara Ann - Date: 1848-49

Marriage 3 – Children:

Name:  Birth date: Place:

Dalton, Francis Iowa desert

Dalton, Mary Ann March 29, 1850 Salt Lake City, Salt Lake, UT.

Marriage Number 4 - Dalton, Simon Cooker - Spouse: Veach, Elizabeth - Date: July 30, 1854.

Marriage 4 –Children:

Name:  Birth date: Place:

Dalton, Luchrita April 12, 1856 Centerville, Davis, UT.

Dalton, Zelmora August 04, 1857 Centerville, Davis, UT.

Dalton, Almeron Ambrose January 12, 1859 Centerville, Davis, UT.

Marriage Number 5 - Dalton, Simon Cooker - Spouse: Bowen, Louisa - Date: December 30, 1865 (Note: This is wrong. It should read “Durham”

(No children)

Church Ordinance Data: Dalton, Simon Cooker – Baptism: Date: April 13, 1842 Ordained Seventy. Temple Ordinance Data: Dalton, Simon Cooker – Baptism:  

Date: June 4, 1889

Endowment, Date: January 10, 1846   Temple: Nauvoo, Hancock, IL, USA

Endowment, Date: December 10, 1844

Endowment, Date: June 7, 1889

Sealed to Parents: Date, April 9, 1907

Sealed to Spouse: Date, August 27, 1983 - Temple: Provo, Utah Co., UT.

Places of Residence: Dalton, Simon Cooker - Centerville, Davis, UT. - 1860

Vocations: Dalton, Simon Cooker – Farmer

Comments: Dalton, Simon Cooker - In 1860, Simon had a household of 9 with $2,000 in real wealth and $290 in personal wealth. In 1870, Simon had a household of 7 with $800 in real wealth and $400 in personal wealth.

Sources: Personal Records of Rod Dalton.

Reference: UT. 27 Aug. 1983, IGI residency- data Centerville, Davis Co. 1860 Census, Springville, Utah. 1870 Census, Springville, Utah. Vocation-Data, Farmer.

Mark Ardath Dalton's, THE JOHN DALTON BOOK OF GENEALOGY,

Parts written by Helen LaMar Dalton Palmer.

Source: Film # 026,642; Family History Center; S.L.C.

Source: A book by Leslie Crunk of “The Dalton's”

Baptism: Reference: Temple Index Bureau, Family Group Sheet.

Place: Reference: Nauvoo Temple Endowment Register 1845-46. Endowment: 10 Jan 1846 - Temple: Nauvoo, Hancock, Ill.. Reference Temple Endowment Register 1845-46 Endowment Date: 10 Dec. 1844 Reference: Family Group Sheet-Self Sealing to Parents Reference: Family Group Sheet-Father Sealing to Spouse Temple: Provo, Utah, 27 Aug. 1983 Reference: IGI Residency-Data Centerville, Davis, Utah 1860.

Reference: 1860 Census Springville Utah.

Reference: 1870 Census - Vocation-Data Farmer.

On the day that Simon Cooker Dalton received his Endowments in the Nauvoo Temple:

Nauvoo, Hancock Co. Illinois: The City of Joseph.

Saturday, January 10, 1846.

Nauvoo, Illinois:

The weather was fine. One hundred eighteen people received their ordinances.

During the day, Elder Willard Richards asked Thomas Bullock and two other brothers if they would pray every day that he would be able to live and complete the History of the Church. They all said that they would. Elder Richards prophesied, "If you do this you shall become gray headed old men, and you shall become heads of great and mighty kingdoms." He told them to go record this in their journals. (Thomas Bullock would die in 1885, at the age of sixty-eight, the father of at least fifteen children. One of the other men, George D. Watt lived to be sixty-five, the father of at least twenty-one children.)

Brigham Young received a letter from Wilford Woodruff in Liverpool, telling President Young that he had made arrangements to send his family home to Nauvoo by way of New Orleans. Elder Woodruff would return via Boston, stopping in Maine and Connecticut to bring his relatives to Nauvoo in time to go west with the Saints.

Elisha Hoops reported that the mob was making preparations in Warsaw for another campaign against the Saints.

A meeting of the 21st Quorum of Seventies was held. At this meeting, Zenas H. Gurley (who would in later years be one of the founders of the RLDS church) arose and said the presidents of the 21st quorum had received their endowment. He observed that it was a remarkable outpouring of the Holy Spirit. He preached that Joseph and Hyrum had "obtained their exaltation by patient submission to right."

Sources:

History of the Church, Vol.7, Ch.38, p.566

Hosea Stout Diary (1846), vol. 2, typescript, BYU-S, p.120 - p.121

Charles Dalton 1810 – 1891

The History of Charles Dalton; The forth son of John Dalton Sr. & Elizabeth Cooker.

Charles Dalton was born on Aug. 22, 1810, on a little farm the Dalton family called Dalton Hollow. This farm was near Wysox township in Bradford Co. Pennsylvania. His parents were John and Elizabeth Dalton. Charles had nine brothers and sisters. Margaret, Sarah, Henry, John Jr. Elizabeth, Simon Cooker, Jemima and Harriet.

Charles Dalton grew up on the Dalton Farm with his brothers and sisters having all the fun that children do everywhere. They also had to do chores, because everybody had to help run the farm. As adults he and his brothers all worked as Blacksmiths, Farmers and Coopers. Trades all of them would need to survive in a future world that they would only dream of in the years to come.

Charles owned a house in Wysox along with a half interest in a sawmill with his older brother, John Dalton Jr. Charles sold his house to a Samual Coolbaugh for $10.

This is listed in a 1835 Wysox Township Assessment record.

Note: I have the copy.

In about 1835, Charles, along with all of the Dalton’s packed up and moved lock, stock and barrel to Washtenaw, Co. Michigan. After living in Michigan for a few years, Charles and his older brother, John Jr. moved to Walworth Co. Wisconsin in early 1838. Their nephew John Green Dalton (the oldest son of Henry Dalton who drowned in the Susquehanna River while in Pennsylvania) went with them. Charles Dalton had heard the news of the restored gospel of the Latter-Day Saints Church and was baptized on June 3, 1838 by Aaron Smith. Charles was ordained an elder in the church on Oct. 13th, 1839 by Ed D. Wooley. Charles Dalton then returned to Michigan where he met his future wife, Mary Elizabeth Warner, probably around early 1842. The Warner Family was living in the town of Homer, Calhoun Co. Michigan as of 1840. (See Michigan 1840 census) How Charles and Mary Elizabeth met we don’t know, but they were married on Aug. 11, 1842.

Charles Dalton and his wife left Michigan for Nauvoo, Illinois in the spring of 1843, maybe with his older brother Simon Cooker Dalton’s family. After arriving in Nauvoo Charles then had to join the Militia because the law required that within 15 days after becoming residents of Nauvoo, eligible males had to join. He joined the Mormon Legion on April 29th, 1844 and was appointed a Sergeant in the Legion by Captain Norton Jacobs. Charles purchased land and built an abode house in the east side of Nauvoo City. It was of one acre on lot #1 in block #37 of the Warrenton addition on July 31, 1843. He only paid $50 for this lot. The land was in the Nauvoo Ward.

While in Nauvoo, Charles was the first of the Dalton family to perform ordinances for the dead. No Chapel or Ward meeting house was ever built in Nauvoo during the Saints stay, so they met every Sunday morning at Ten, weather permitting, in a place they called the “Grove’; The “Grove was a short distance west of the new Temple site. The benches were logs cut in half.

Charles was a blacksmith and a farmer and he probably worked on the Temple as did the other Daltons. On Oct. 18, 1843 Charles and Mary Elizabeth had their first son born to them. They named this son John Luther Dalton.

Charles and Mary Elizabeth both received their Patriarchal Blessing on Oct. 15, 1844

from Patriarch John Smith. (Note: see page 28-29 of Leslie Crunk’s book on the whole blessing . Charles was ordained a High Priest on Oct. 20, 1844.

In February of 1845 Charles Dalton attended a Church Conference in the town of Jackson, Jackson Co. Michigan. His older brother Simon Cooker Dalton had lived in Grass Lake, Jackson Co. before he moved onto Nauvoo around 1842-43.

Minutes of a Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints, held at Jackson, Jackson county, Michigan, on the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd days of February, 1845.

There were present, one high priest, also eight elders, two priests, and one teacher.

The house was called to order by N. W. Bartholomew. Charles Dalton was called to the chair, and Arza Bartholomew and Samuel Graham chosen clerks.

After singing, the throne of grace was addressed by the president. The representation of different branches of the church was called for. The Jackson branch was represented by N. W. Bartholomew, twenty-three members, one priest and one teacher; all in good standing. The Albion branch represented by C. Dalton, twenty four members, four elders, one teacher and one deacon; all in good standing. The Napoleon branch represented by William Quigly, nine members, three elders, and one priest; all in good standing. Conference dismissed by a benediction, until half past two, P. M.

Conference assembled pursuant to appointment.

After singing and prayer by the president, a large concourse of people listened to an address delivered by C. Dalton, on the fulfillment of prophecy.

Adjourned until six o'clock, Saturday evening, when the same subject was continued by the president; after which some disturbance occurred by Mr. O. Eitson, to the gentleman's own shame, and his parent’s disgrace; being answered by C. Dalton, the gentleman plead ignorance and left the house, in the midst of considerable mirth.

The meeting adjourned until Sunday morning, with much good feeling.

Sunday morning, 10 o'clock, a large congregation assembled; after singing and prayer by Elder Wm. Son, the conference was ably addressed by Charles Dalton, on the resurrection of the dead, followed by Samuel Graham on the same subject.

Adjourned by a benediction until two o'clock P. M.

Sunday afternoon a large congregation assembled; singing and prayer by N. W. Bartholomew; after which the congregation listened to an address upon the sinfulness and danger of unbelief by Elder S. Graham.

Good attention and much seriousness manifested. Adjourned until 6 o'clock.

Sunday evening; the house became crowded again with many honestly seeking for truth: after singing, and prayer by Isaac Bartholomew, the order of God's kingdom was clearly shown by Charles Dalton, followed by Samuel Graham and an invitation given to such as wished to become saints of this glorious kingdom; three arose and requested baptism.

The meeting was adjourned until Monday, two o'clock P. M.

The saints together with a few Gentile sectarians, assembled at the house of Brother Isaac Bartholomew. The meeting was opened by singing, and prayer by Elder Samuel Graham; a warm exhortation was given by the president; after which five were baptised [baptized]; two elders, one priest, and one deacon were ordained also seven children blessed.

The following resolutions were then adopted.

Resolved, That we will uphold the authorities of the church, by our prayers and abide the teaching of the first presidency, as far in us lies.

Resolved, That the minutes of this conference be sent to Nauvoo, for an insertion in the Times and Seasons.

Resolved, That this conference be adjourned until the first Saturday and Sunday in April next at this place.

Dear Brethren, we rejoice to inform you, that the work of the Lord is prospering in this part of the land, and our prospects are brightening daily. Since our last conference, death has taken from us Samuel Graham, aged 89 years, having been twelve years a strong member of the church. He received the priesthood last May, under the hands of G. A. Smith and W. Woodruff. Long in our memories will last the exhortations which he gave during his last hours. We can say of him, he has gone to reap the reward of the faithful.

We received Brother G. A. Smith's letter on the 14th of January, concerning Brother H. J. Brown; his case was attended to according to his instructions, and Brother Brown was restored to fellowship by the voice of all the saints present, and all things past were settled never more to be called in question.

CHARLES DALTON, Pres't. Arza Bartholomew, Samuel Graham, Clerks.

Charles Dalton in Nauvoo:

In January of 1845 the Nauvoo City Charter was revoked by the State of Illinois and Charles Dalton and the other Mormon’s didn’t realize that this would bring on one of the greatest exodus of modern history. They were being forced from their homes and

persuaded to no end. In Sept. of 1845 Brigham Young announced that Nauvoo would be abandoned the following spring. The entire City was organized into Emigrant Companies

The Church asked each family to have as much as $300 worth of provisions for the trip to the future State of Deseret. Each company was to have 100 families The first Saints to leave Nauvoo on Feb. 4th, 1846 was lead by Charles Shumway and his wagons drove down to the icy waters of the mighty Mississippi River and put on a flat boat and ferried across the river to the Iowa side. Charles Dalton and his brother John Dalton Jr. were probably in this first wave.

Charles and his family next stopped in the Mormon settlement of Montrose before proceeding on to the Sugar Creek encampment. About March 1st, 1846 five hundred wagons moved out of Sugar Creek on their way to Garden City, Iowa, which is 144 miles west of Nauvoo. By this time one of the Dalton Brothers was a captain of one of these wagon trains.

We next find the Charles Dalton family at an encampment named Pawnee Station. It was used as a mission by Presbyterian Ministers until the Indians chased them away.

On July 9, 1846, Bishop George Miller (Bishop Miller was a rogue Mormon and did not always agree with Brigham Young. He would go off on some wild goose chases, which irritated Brigham Young considerably.) Took 32 wagons across the Missouri River into Indian Country and proceeded 120 miles to the Pawnee Station. The Chief of the Ponca Indian invited the Mormon Company to “winter over’ at his village. What did he have in mind? On Aug. 8 1846, Brigham Young directed Bishop Miller to abandon this Mission and returned to Winter Quarters. Bishop Miller decided to go with the Indians Fourteen families refused to go back with Miller, included Charles Dalton. The Indians started to get out of hand and started to plunder the remaining Saints. Charles Dalton and the other Saints decided to return to Winter Quarters on Sept. 26 and on the way back Charles and Mary Elizabeth had a daughter born on Sept. 31, 1846 in Shell Creek. They named her, Marsha Jane Dalton , but she died some seven months later in Winter Quarters. Charles, Mary and Luther arrived in Winter Quarters on Oct. 10. While in Winter Quarters, Charles Dalton met with Brigham Young and was asked to take care of the cattle of the sisters whose husbands had joined the Mormon Battalion and had left on the longest march in the history of the young United States to the west coast because of the threat of war with Mexico.

The following men agreed to herd the cattle for $2 per head and would be responsible for neglect; William and Ganier Potter, Charles Dalton, John Pack, Samuel Shephard, Samuel and Jesse Snider, John Mercer and Edward Oakey. By Dec. 30, 1846, Winter Quarters consisted of 538 log cabins, 83 sod houses for a population of 3,483.

Before we proceed with this history of Charles Dalton we will tell the story of Brigham Young’s “Vanguard Company Of Saints” This Company with Brigham Young in charge was naturally the most famous of all the Companies that crossed the plains. This company left Winter quarters on April on 16, 1847, they crossed the Platte River with 143 men, three women and 12 children, consisting of 73 wagons, 93 horses, 52 mules, 66 oxen, 19 cows, 17 dogs and some chickens. Their first objective was to mark the trail for the other Saints to follow. This famous company of Brigham Young finally drove their wagons onto the site of what was to become the Great City of Salt on July 24, 1847. The valley floor was a dry and treeless plain as far as the eye could see. Gray sage brush, the natural home of the jackrabbit and the rattlesnake, stretch in every direction. The hot July sun had scorched the grass and baked the earth. What a far cry of what it turned out to be almost 152 years later. They could see the Great Salt Lake, which to their surprise turned out to be quite salty. Before settling on a specific town site, exploration parties were sent out in each direction, some to the canyons where they located splendid timber. Others investigate the River that runs into the Great Salt Lake. They named this river, The Jordon River. On July 24, 1847 Brigham Young walked with the Council of the Twelve, planted his cane in the ground at a certain spot, and said, “ Here is the 40 acres for the Temple. The city can be laid out eight rods wide, and that there will be a side walk on each side, twenty feet wide and each house to be built in the center of the lot, twenty feet from the front.”

During the first month after reaching the valley, the pioneers plowed 84 acres of land, planted corn, beans, potatoes, buckwheat, turnips, etc. During the same period, 27 log houses was built, a portion of a fort was erected on a 10 acre plot where 160 families souls wintered over. By the close of the year, 2,095 Saints were living in the valley. Brigham Young only spent about a month in the city establishing the order in which he wanted the city, then he returned to Winter Quarters to escort other Saints. On Oct. 31, 1947 he led the next big wave of pioneers to the Great Salt Lake Valley.

The Saints emigration across the plains from the Missouri River in 1848 was divided into three divisions. The first division, led by Brigham Young in charge, left the Elkhorn River on June 1, 1848. John Dalton Jr. was in this division with Brigham. Charles Dalton and his family left in the third division; it left the Elkhorn River on July 10th, 1848. This division was composed of: 502 whites, 24 Negroes, 169 wagons, 50 horses, 20 mules, 515 oxen, 426 cows and loose cattle, 369 pigs, 5 cats, 170 chickens, 4 turkeys, 7 ducks, 5 doves, 3 goats and to many dogs to count.

Charles Dalton in the Salt Lake Valley:

After a long, hot and hard journey across the plains, Charles Dalton and his family enjoyed a reunion with John Dalton Jr. They probably lived in one of the three forts that was now built in the fall and winter of 1848/49. On Jan. 14, 1849 Salt Lake City was divided into 17 Wards, each contains nine blocks. The Dalton’s chose or were assigned land a few miles east and south of the old fort. It was within the boundaries of the 10th Ward, which was organized on Feb. 22, 1849. Charles Dalton settled on lot #5, block 32. This lot was in Plat B. for protection, a fence was built around the Ward boundaries.

Ward record Shows:

“Fence Minutes of June 14, 1849:”

John Dalton - self and team- 2 days worked.

Edward Dalton - self and team - 2 days worked.

Charles Dalton - self and team - 2 days worked.

On July 5, 1849, Ward records show work done on the tabernacle. It was built on 104 posts. The roof and sides were covered with boards. It was located where the Assembly Hall now stands, on the southwest corner of Temple Square. The following donations were recorded:

John Dalton - Self and team - 2 days.

Charles Dalton - self and team - 2 days.

The 1850 census put the population of Utah at 11,380. The records show:

Charles Dalton age 40 born Penn. A Blacksmith.

Mary E age 25 born N.Y.

John L age 7 born Illinois

Mary age 5 born Illinois

Charles age 3 born Iowa

Brigham age 1 born Deseret

Of note is that the last three children in the 1850 Utah Census is unknown to us in our

Family records.

From the 10th Ward records:

A meeting regarding the building of the Tabernacle (the third bowery) This Tabernacle is now commonly referred to as the “old Tabernacle” At this meeting Charles Dalton donated $10 in blacksmithing towards the construction of this Tabernacle. There seems to be been several forms of Tithing: 1- Property Tithing. 2- Labor Tithing. 3- Product Tithing.

Charles Dalton is listed as paying his property Tithing in full as of Sept. 10th, 1851.

Name Sum total due

John Dalton $540 $54 pd in full

Charles Dalton $155 $15.50 credited $15

Simon C. Dalton $928 $92.80 pd

This may have been just the money they earned working on the Church farm, or they may have had other forms of earnings from their blacksmithing.

Charles Dalton was privileged to baptize his son John Luther Dalton on April 1, 1852, he was confirmed by Bishop Pettegrew.

On Oct. 7, 1852, at the General Conference, Charles Dalton was called on a mission; where to, we don’t know, but many of the mission calls Brigham Young issued during this time were for colonizing certain area’s of the State of Deseret.

In March of 1854 we find the Charles Dalton family living in Farmington, Davis Co., Utah, which is about 20 miles north of Salt Lake City.

Charles Dalton took on a second wife in a plural marriage. This wife was Eunice Daniels, a daughter of Sheffield and Abigail Warren Daniels. Eunice was 22 and Charles was 43. They were married on April 23, 1854 at 12:50 P.M. by Heber C. Kimball in the Presidents office before the Endowment House was built.

Charles and Eunice’s first son was born on Feb. 11, 1855. He was born in Farmington and was named Dell.

At the annual L. D. S. General Conference on April 6, 1855, President Brigham Young read the names of 27 Elders who were called to labor among the Indians in what was then the Oregon Territory. Charles Dalton was one of these 27 men. This mission was called the Salmon River/ Fort Limhi Mission. The missionaries were to be prepared to leave within five or six weeks. Each man was asked to take provisions for one year, including 3 bushels of wheat, 300 lbs. of flour and seed. Their instructions were: “Go into the Salmon River country, Oregon Territory. Many tribes converge upon that area to fish and hunt. Choose an appropriate location and found upon that mission. Teach them the arts of husbandry and peace according to our gospel plan.”

Charles Dalton started from his home in May of 1855. On Monday, the 18 of June,

after traveling for over 433 miles, the Saints arrived at their destination. A Fort was quickly built and a rock wall was built around the Fort. They named this Fort Limhi.

While on his mission to Ft. Limhi, Charles was able to return home on several occasions.

Below is listed the wifes and all the children born to Charles Dalton.

Charles Dalton & Mary Elizabeth Warner: Married August 11 1842 in Homer, Michigan.

1- John Luther Dalton was born Oct. 18 1843 in Nauvoo Illinois.

2- Elizabeth Permelia Dalton was born July 10 1845 in Nauvoo Illinois.

3- Martha Jane Dalton was born Sept. 30 1846 in Shell Creek Missouri.

Charles Dalton and Eunice Daniels: Married April 23 in SLC Utah.

1- Dell Dalton was born Feb. 11 1855 in Farmington Utah.

2- Charles Sheffield was born Feb. 12 1857 in Farmington Utah.

3- Orlando Dalton was born Feb. 3 1859 in Centerville Utah.

4- Don Carlos Dalton was born Feb. 7 in Sugerhouse, Utah.

5- Simon Dalton was born March 10 1863 in Peterson Utah.

6- William Henry Dalton was born May 1 1865 in Peterson Utah.

Charles Dalton & Emily Stevens Halliday: Married Oct. 3 1868 in SLC Utah.

No Children.

It was while he was home on March 28, 1856, Charles suffered another tragedy in his life, when his wife Mary Elizabeth Warner Dalton died in Farmington.

On Feb. 12, 1857, Charles and Eunice’ second child was born. They named him Charles Sheffield Dalton.

On March 23, 1858 a company of 150 men from Salt Lake City arrived at Fort Limhi to escort the Missionaries home to Utah. This ended the Salmon River Mission and a big part of Charles Dalton’s service to the Church’s.

Charles Dalton’s Salmon River Mission:

Sources: Extract from Journal of L. W. Shurtliff. Edited by W. W. Henderson

From the CD, LDS Family History Suite 2, by Ancestry Inc. Orem Utah.

The below article is a history of the Salmon River Mission. Charles Dalton had the experiences of the same men that is mentioned in this article. (Quite a long article - RD)

The Salmon River Mission was one of those established by the Latter-day Saints in 1855. In this year there were five such missions established. There was a three-fold purpose in organizing these missions. The first was to acquire new territory to provide homes and lands for the great number of saints who were coming into Salt Lake Valley. The second purpose was to civilize, preach the gospel to and convert the Indians. The third purpose was a part of, or grew out of the second—to establish unmistakable peace and good will between themselves and the natives.

The men and women who went out into the unknown wilds to set up these missions were called to this duty by their leaders in the Church, and responded willingly to the undertaking

.

It was on May 19, 1855, that the first company was organized for colonizing the great Northwest. There were twenty-six men in the company and no women or children. The officers elected for leading this company were:

Thomas S. Smith, President of the mission, Farmington, Utah.

Francillo Durfee, Captain of the company, Ogden, Utah.

David Moore, Secretary, Ogden, Utah.

B.F. Cummings, Captain of the guard, Ogden, Utah.

The members of the company besides those named, were:

Ezra J. Barnard, Farmington

Baldwin H. Watts, South Weber

Charles Dalton, Centerville

Wm. H. Bachelor, Salt Lake City

William Bundridge, Salt Lake City

William Burgess, Provo

Everett Lish, Willard

Joseph Parry, Ogden

Pleasant Green Taylor, Ogden

John Gallager, Ogden

David H. Stevens, Ogden

Isaac Shepherd, Farmington

George R. Grant, Kaysville

Israel J. Clark, Centerville

Ira Ames, Salt Lake City

Thomas Butterfield, West Jordan

Abraham Zundel, Willard

Gilbert R. Belnap, Ogden

Nathaniel Leavitt, Ogden

Charles McCeary, Ogden

John W. Browning, Ogden

George W. Hill, Ogden

The company was organized on the west side of Bear River Utah, and was provided with thirteen wagons, twenty-six yoke of oxen, a few cows and some implements of industry, besides enough provisions to last them for nearly a year.

They traveled northward up Malad Valley, crossed the Bannock Mountains, continued northward down Bannock Creek, crossed the Portneuf River, Ross' Fork and Blackfoot River, shortly after which they reached Snake River which they crossed about five miles north of Fort Hall, and near Ross' Butte. From here they traveled northeastward on the west side of the Snake River until they reached a point three miles above "Eagle Rock," now called Idaho Falls. They left Snake River at this place and traveled toward the range of mountains on the northwest. They passed by Market Lake and by Muddy Lake from whence they crossed a desert thirty miles in extent, and finally reached "Birch Creek." They followed this stream to its source for sixty miles. This brought them to the top of the Salmon River range of mountains. Going down the other side they followed the Limhi River to a point twenty miles above where it empties into the Salmon River. They arrived at this place on June the fifteenth, 1855, and were three hundred and thirty-three miles from Ogden, according to the odometer constructed by Colonel David Moore.

Here they built a fort of palisade, which they named "Fort Limhi." It was about twenty rods square. The palisade was built of logs sixteen feet long standing on end and close together. It had one gate on the East Side, and one on the west. The colonizers built their houses of logs, on the inside of the fort. Bastions were built at each corner.

On their arrival they found a large number of Indians roving about the country. They were the Shoshones, Nez Perces and Bannocks, and were on their annual fishing trip. The company had an interpreter, whose name was George W. Hill. He explained to the natives that the colonizers' purpose was to teach them how to till the soil and become civilized like white men. When the Indians found out that these travelers were their friends and intended to help them, the colonizers were given a hearty welcome. As soon as the fort was built and the men were in safety they began to break up land and plant crops. They put in peas, potatoes, turnips and other vegetables. Some of the men brought an irrigation ditch from the creek coming from the East Side of the valley to the crop which they had planted. Some of the men herded the cattle and kept guard. It was necessary to keep very close watch over themselves as well as their possessions because of thieving Indians. The men were always heavily armed.

Fort Limhi, Idaho Territory

Life at Fort Limhi:

During the fall, all busied themselves in making log houses for winter shelter. These were constructed in a row along the inner four sides of the fort. Immediately inside the wall, or palisades, they left a space, which served as a yard for wood. A little farther in was the row of houses, and in the center of the fort a large square. They dug a well in the center of the square and hoisted a tall flagpole from the top of which the Stars and Stripes waved at all appropriate times.

One house in this fort was constructed with a large room in which the colonizers met regularly for church service and worship. These men who were on this Salmon River Mission were far removed from civilization and were without women or children, but they were devoted to their religious duties, and the conduct was never such that they need be ashamed of it before their wives or mothers, or even in the sight of God.

It was clear that they did not have enough provisions to last more than three or four months, so the president of the mission, Thomas S. Smith, called for volunteers to return immediately to Utah so that they could come back as early in the spring possible with supplies. The following seven men responded: George W. Hill, Joseph Parry, Abraham Zundel, William Burch, Isaac Shepherd, Thomas Butterfield and William Batchelor. They were fitted up with three wagons and six yoke of oxen. They left Fort Limhi on the 4th of December 1855, and arrived in Ogden on the twenty-sixth of the same month. They were in good health, with the exception of some suffering from frostbite. They were compelled to leave one of their wagons by the way side.

During the first winter at Salmon River the colonists had real pleasant time. There was no contagious diseases to contend with and sickness was almost unknown. The men busied the selves and vied with each other in learning the Indian language. This being an unwritten language, to learn it meant a careful exercise of the ear and the sound producing organs. It would likely be an impossibility to reduce the Indian language to writing. Some one would at least have to invent a new alphabet to fit the peculiar sounds of this native tongue. Our colonizers progress nicely in learning the language. Lewis W. Shurtliff or "Slim" as he was familiarly called did extra well. In fact he gained reputation for being an Indian interpreter.

When Spring came in 1856 the men all went to work breaking up land and putting in crops. As the fort was a community fort, so the land was community land and the crop community crop. They all worked together, each doing all that he could, as all were to partake equally of the harvest. Their farm was just below, or to the north of the Fort.

May the fifteenth, 1856, the company, which left Fort Limhi in December and went to Utah for supplies, returned to the fort. They brought a liberal supply of provisions, useful articles for persons at the Fort, which had been sent from friends and relatives, and the mail, which contained newsy letters for everybody there.

In the spring of 1857 the company put in a large crop of peas, potatoes, garden vegetables generally, and a large field of wheat. It all came up and grew splendidly giving promise of an abundant harvest. But grasshoppers hatched out in countless millions all through the country and ate every vestige of the crops. It was certainly discouraging to witness the devastation. Before the insects came, everything was beautiful and promising, but after, all was barren and desolate. So it was necessary to resort to Utah once more for supplies. In the same spring they made a small canal, taking the water out of Limhi Creek "above the road" and conducting it along past the east wall of the fort and to the land beyond and on the North. The summer before this the company had made a small ditch by plowing a furrow, but now they made a real canal with laterals branching out in the land. This was the first real irrigation system constructed in Idaho, Oregon or Washington. Lewis W. Shurtliff took a prominent part in the building of this canal.

On the twenty-second of October 1857, Thomas S. Smith and Milton Hammond came in from Salt Lake City. They brought news of a company coming in from Utah, which, according to the promise of President Young, was sent to strengthen the colony.

Their names were:

John L. Dalton (son of Charles Dalton)

James Wilcox

Jane Hadlock

Oliver Robinson

James Miller

Charles F. Middleton

Henry Smith and wife

Jesse Smith and Wife

William Smith and wife

Frederick A. Miller

Reuben Cottle

Fountain Welsch

Orson Ross

Andrew Quigley

William Perry and wife

William Taylor

Levi Taylor

James Allred

Martin H. Harris

Jonathan Bowen and wife

Joseph Bowen

Stephen Green and wife

Henry Harman and wife

James McBride

This company arrived on the twenty-seventh of October 1857.

Fort Limhi Deserted:

The winter passed on with considerable Pleasure and with some troubles. The Indians, that is some unfriendly ones, began to give the people at the Fort considerable trouble. Some of them stole an ox, killed it for beef and made away with it. Brother Shurtliff and a few others followed them. After a chase of over one hundred miles, through the roughest country they ever saw, they caught the Indians and took a horse from them to pay for the ox.

On the ninth of February 1858, an unfriendly Indian stole President Smith's favorite horse. Lewis Shurtliff and a few others set out on the trail of the Indian, and soon found that the thief had tried to cover up his tracks by taking circuitous routes and crossing streams, but they followed him for several days, going far North and over very rough country. The weather was so severe that some of them got their ears and feet frozen and all had to go on short rations. They finally located the Indian and got the horse. The Indian said he would make trouble for them, which afterward proved to be true. On their return with the horse, a band of Indians followed them but could not overtake them. When they reached Fort Limhi they were hungry, tired and cold, but they were soon made comfortable by kind hands.

A few weeks passed by and the unfriendly Indians were gathering. By the twenty-third of February there were more than two hundred of them near the fort and no doubt ready for trouble. On this day Lewis Shurtliff and P. G. Taylor went into the timber after puncheons, and while they were gone the Indians made an attack on the herd of stock belonging to the people in the Fort. They killed two men, wounded five more and drove off the stock, leaving the Saints in a deplorable condition. Those killed were George McBride and James Miller. Those wounded were Thomas S. Smith, H. L. Shurtliff, Andrew Quigley, James Welch and Oliver Robinson. These men had all been out in defense of their herds.

The Indians planned to decoy the people out of the fort. When the hostilities were well started a few came up and made a rush toward the fort. They hoped that the people would rush out to attack them or make their escape. This is perhaps what would have happened had it not been for the presence of mind and the stern command of Colonel Moore to "Shut that gate" to which he saw people making a rush. Except those dead and wounded all were now in the fort and they were apparently safe, even though there were five hundred or more hostile Indians outside. The men in the fort busied themselves in making the fort a safer place of refuge. They all kept watch at night, worked in the day time, building bastions and making other preparations to defend themselves.

Lewis Shurtliff and fourteen others volunteered to go out in search of the dead and wounded. This was a great risk, as they knew that the Indians intended killing them if they could. The fifteen men recovered all the dead and wounded but James Miller. They found George McBride dead and scalped. Next day Brother Shurtliff and eleven others were called to go down the river in search of James Miller. This was a dangerous task and was undertaken with great caution. The men were successful in finding the dead man who was brought back to the fort. The two heroes were buried in one grave.

President Smith called a meeting of all the men to consider what should be done. It was decided to send two good men to Salt Lake City to inform President Brigham Young as to what had happened and ask for help. That night at nine, o'clock Ezra Barnard and Baldwin Watts set out on good horses and with the fervent prayers of the saints in their behalf. The Indians apparently did not see anything of them, but they made several attempts to take the people at the fort unawares. In this they did not succeed.

All were anxiously waiting for help from Utah. On the eleventh of March ten of the boys from Salt Lake came in, and on the twenty-third Captain Cunningham arrived with eighty men. This marked the end of a long and heavy suspense on the part of the people at the Fort.

Everybody was getting ready for returning to Utah. All surplus wheat, nearly two thousand bushels were cached. President Young had sent enough relief to bring them all home. On the twenty-eighth of March 1858, the whole company left Fort Limhi. Ten men were sent ahead as a vanguard. The Indians followed them in a sulking, sneaking way for two hundred miles and succeeded in getting one victim. They killed, stripped and scalped Bailey Lake at that dangerous point of rocks on Bannock Creek. Aside from this the people made their journey to Utah in safety. They arrived in Ogden on April 18, 1858, at three o'clock in the afternoon.

Thus ended the first mission to colonize the great northwest, to establish new homes, to till the soil and introduce irrigation and endeavor to civilize and Christianize the natives. They had spent three and one-half years in incessant labor, and thrilling adventurers, and had made many sacrifices. Three of the colonists were killed, five were wounded, and hundreds of thousands of dollars in time, expense, horses, cattle, and other property were lost. How, shall it ever be repaid?

Source: Judge W. H. Reeder, Jr., Ogden, Utah.

Charles Dalton returns to Utah:

When Charles Dalton returned to his home in Farmington from Ft. Limhi on April 18, 1858, the Mormon Saints were in a torment over the fact that the United States Government was sending Johnson’s Army into Utah to take over Brigham’s Territory. This would be known as The Utah War. The people were determined to leave the valley a wasteland if the Army could not be stopped. The large-scale evacuation of Farmington began in May of 1858. Bishop Hess organized companies of Ward members and started south to a selected settlement near Willow Creek in Juab County, between present day Mona and Nephi, Utah. Soon after their arrival in Utah County, Allen S. Rose, Charles O. Card, Joseph Platt and perhaps Charles Dalton was sent back to Farmington to be guards, with the instructions to burn the town if the Army tried to take possession of it.

On June 30, 1858 the settlers learned that Johnson’s Army had passed quietly through a deserted Salt Lake City and had camped west of the Jordan River. The Army later moved to Camp Floyd which is 30 miles south of the city. The so-called Utah War was settled

peacefully. Brigham Young issued an order to return to their homes.

The History of the Utah War:

The Utah War, 1857-1858, was a costly, disruptive and unnecessary confrontation between the Mormon people in Utah Territory and the government and army of the United States. It resulted from misunderstandings that transformed a simple decision to give Utah Territory a new governor into a yearlong comedy of errors with a tragic potential. Had there been transcontinental telegraphic communications at the time, what has been referred to as "Buchanan's Blunder" almost certainly would not have occurred.

Sensitive to Republican charges that the Democrats favored the "twin relics of barbarism--polygamy and slavery," President James Buchanan moved quickly after his inauguration to find a non-Mormon governor for Utah. Then, apparently influenced by reports from Judge W. W. Drummond and other former territorial officials, he and his cabinet decided that the Mormons would resist the replacement of Governor Brigham Young. So, without investigation, the contract for mail service to Utah was canceled and 2,500-man military force was ordered to accompany Alfred Cumming to Great Salt Lake City.

In the absence of formal notification of administration intentions, Young and other Mormon leaders interpreted the army's coming as religious persecution and adopted a defensive posture. Under his authority as governor, Young declared martial law and deployed the local militia, the Nauvoo Legion, to delay the troops. Harassing actions included burning three supply trains and driving hundreds of government cattle to the Great Salt Lake Valley. The "scorched earth" tactics forced Albert Sidney Johnston's Utah Expedition and the accompanying civil officials to improvise winter quarters (at Camp Scott and Eckelsville), near burned-out Fort Bridger, while the nation feared the worst.

During the winter both sides strengthened their forces. Congress, over almost unanimous Republican opposition, authorized two new volunteer regiments, and Buchanan, Secretary of War John B. Floyd, and Army Chief of Staff Winfield Scott assigned 3,000 additional regular troops to reinforce the Utah Expedition. Meanwhile, the Mormon communities were called upon to equip a thousand men for duty in the one hundred miles of mountains that separated Camp Scott and Great Salt Lake City.

Despite his belligerent public posture, Brigham Young never intended to force a showdown with the U.S. Army. He and other leaders frequently spoke of putting homes to the torch and fleeing into the mountains rather than permitting their enemies to take over their property. Memories of earlier persecutions were invoked to build morale and prepare the people for possible further sacrifices. Early in 1858 exploring parties were sent to locate a place of refuge that Young believed to exist in the central Great Basin. By the time they returned with negative reports, the Utah War was over.

That Young hoped for a diplomatic solution is clear from his early appeal to Thomas L. Kane, the influential Pennsylvanian who had for ten years been a friend of the Mormons. Communications and personal problems delayed Kane's approach to Buchanan, and not until after Christmas did he receive permission to go to Utah as an unofficial emissary. He reached Salt Lake City late in February, via Panama and California, and found the Mormon leadership ready for peace but doubtful about its feasibility. When the first reports of Kane's Camp Scott contacts with general Johnston were discouraging, Young's pessimism was confirmed.

The "Move South" resulted. On 23 March Young announced that the time had come to implement the "Sebastopol" policy, a plan named after a strategic Russian retreat during the Crimean War. All the Mormon settlements in northern Utah must be abandoned and prepared for burning. Initially conceived as permanent, the evacuation began to be seen by the Mormon leadership as tactical and temporary as soon as word came that Kane was bringing Cumming to Salt lake City without the army.

Still, it was a relocation that dwarfed the earlier flights from Missouri and Illinois; approximately 30,000 people moved fifty miles or more to Provo and the other towns in central and southern Utah. There they remained in shared and improvised housing while the outcome of the Utah War was being determined. Kane and Cumming came to the Mormon capital in early April. Young immediately surrendered the gubernatorial title and soon established a comfortable working relationship with his successor. However, neither of the non-Mormons would encourage Young's hope that the army might be persuaded to go away, nor could they give him convincing assurance that Johnston's troops would come in peacefully. So the move south continued.

Meanwhile President Buchanan responded to rising criticism by publicly appointing two commissioners, Lazarus Powell and Ben McCulloch, to carry an amnesty proclamation to the Mormons. Upon reaching Utah in early June, they found Young and his colleagues willing to accept forgiveness for past offenses in exchange for accepting Cumming and the establishment of an army garrison in the territory. When Johnston's army marched through a deserted Salt Lake City on 26 June 1858 and then went on to build Camp Floyd forty miles to the southwest, the Utah War was over.

As governor, Cumming soon became more popular with the Mormons than with the military forces that had remained until the outbreak of the Civil War. With the nearby civilian town of Fairfield, Camp Floyd represented the first sizable non-Mormon resident population in Utah, and it ended forever the Mormon dream of a Zion geographically separate from the world of unbelievers. As for the Mormon community in Utah, the exertions and expenditures associated with the Nauvoo Legion efforts and the Move South taxed both capital and morale. The war terminated the Mormon outpost settlements in present day California, Nevada, Wyoming and Idaho, interrupted and weakened the missionary effort in Europe, and dissipated much of the enthusiasm and discipline that had earlier been generated by the Reformation of 1856. As a demonstration of sacrificial zeal, the Move South won some sympathy, but it did not improve the prospects for Utah statehood or increase toleration of Mormon differences from mainstream American ideas and institutions.

Source: Norman F. Furniss, The Mormon Conflict, 1850-1859 (1960, 1977); Richard D. Poll, Quixotic Mediator: Thomas L. Kane and the Utah War (1985).

Charles Dalton stayed in Farmington from the summer of 1858 to sometime before the birth of his 4th son, who was born in Centerville, Utah on Feb. 3, 1859. His name was Orlando Dalton.

The 1860 Utah census shows Charles Dalton and family living back in Salt Lake City, probably somewhere near 21st South and Highland Drive, which is in Sugarhouse. Their

property is valued at $300. His brother John Dalton Jr. lives next door and is managing

the Church Farm.

Charles Dalton age 50

Eunice Dalton age 25

Luther Dalton age 18

Dell Dalton age 5

Charles Jr. age 3

Orlando Dalton age 1

Charles Dalton’s fifth son, Don Carlos Dalton was born in Sugarhouse on Feb. 7, 1861.

John Luther Dalton left the following account of his families’ move to Peterson, Morgan Co. Utah. “In the spring of 1861, my father moved his family, which consisted of my father, my step mother Eunice, my self, and my brothers, Dell, Charles Sheffield, Orlando and Don Carlos from the Sugarhouse Ward, Salt Lake County to the Weber Valley, Morgan County, Peterson, Utah area. Peterson is located on the Weber River about a dozen miles up Weber Canyon. Its First name was that of Weber Valley.”

While living in Peterson, Simon Dalton was born on March 10, 1863. Charles was at one time the Superintendent of the Sunday school.

One day a group of Indians came to Charles Dalton’s Blacksmith shop and Charles put on a pair of new shoes on the horse of the Chief. The Chief was grateful and to show his appreciation offered to trade many horses for his daughter-in-law (John Luther’s wife) However, when he found out that she was pregnant with papoose, he immediately withdrew his offer and departed.

On Aug. 4 of 1867 another tragedy struck Charles’ family. At the young age of 34, Eunice Dalton died and left Charles with six sons under the age of 12 to raise. Charles almost immediately married for the third time. Her name was Emily Stevens Halliday. She was about 43 years old and Charles was 58. Charles continued to live in Peterson until March of 1870 when he and Emily took their combined family, totaling eight children and moved west of Ogden, Utah to South Hooper. Charles owned 80 acres under the United States Homestead Act. Their house was built of board straight up and down with cane squeezings for the roof. This was latter replaced with an adobe house. Hooper at this time was just a part of a great vast wilderness on the edge of the Great Salt Lake. At this time the Great Salt Lake was lower than it had been to the knowledge of the white man. Charles used to walk way out across the wide stretches of white and gather salt. He worked as a blacksmith because the land was not fertile, so he raised thousands of ducks, geese and perhaps turkeys. Tax assessment rolls for the years of 1871 through 1878 shows Charles Dalton paying taxes on property ranging in value of $150 to $770.

Another story on Charles is: “One time Charles was going out to get his cow when a Indian shot at him. The bullet grazed his white shirt, leaving a black streak, but did not enter. The Indian was a friend and either did it accidentally or was shooting at the wrong man.”

The 1880 Utah Census shows Charles and Emily Dalton still living in Hooper.

Charles Dalton age 69

Emily age 54

Charles age 23

Orlando age 21

Don Carlos age 19

Stephen E. (Holliday) age 17

Simon age 17

William age 15

Charles sons by Eunice grew into adulthood in Hooper. They married and started families there.

A meeting was held to organize the first genealogical society of the Dalton families.

Present at this were many of our Dalton's.

Charles Dalton of Hooper, Davis County, Chairman.

Mathew Dalton of Willard, Box Elder County.

John Luther Dalton of Ogden City, Weber County, Secretary.

Orlando Dalton of Plymouth, Box Elder County.

Don Carlos Dalton of Ogden City, Weber County.

William Dalton of Summit, Weber County.

Frederick Fedel of Ogden City, Weber County.

Other Dalton’ were contacted about joining the organization included:

Edward Dalton of Manassa, Colorado.

Simon Cooker Dalton of Spingville, Utah County.

Charles W. Dalton of Circleville, Piute County.

Mrs. Elizabeth Dalton Turner of Dunkirk House, Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, England.

This Dalton Society labored for many years trying to find the history of where their ancestors come from. We are grateful to them for the extensive records that have been handed down to us.

Charles Dalton and Emily Dalton lived in Hooper until their last child left home. They then left their old Hooper farm and lived with sons William Henry and Simon.

The following article is by Voyla Dalton Smith about her grandfather, Charles Dalton.

It is interesting to read Grandfather's Diary, which begins:

"Started from home on mission, swam our cattle and horses and camped on the west bank with all the Carson Valley Mission. All was well and the blessings of the Lord was upon us, and we organized ourselves into a traveling capacity."

Many things happened during this Mission, far too numerous to relate here. His young wife died. His son, Charles Sheffield, was born. The Indians were good, and bad. Mountaineers and U. S. Troops were deceitful and vicious. President Young finally called the remainder of the missionaries’ home. Three of them had been massacred by the Indians. Grandfather Dalton escaped injury, although he was in the midst of the violence.

Charles married Eunice Daniels in Salt Lake City. They lived in Farmington, Centerville, Sugar House, then moved to Peterson in Morgan County. Here he again farmed but also opened a blacksmith shop where the Union Pacific Station now stands. Their home was on a hill about where the schoolhouse is located. They were living in Peterson when the first train came through. Farmers exchanged grain, flour and anything they had to pay for "blacksmithing."

Eunice was the mother of six fine sons but died at the age of thirty-four. The little wife of John Luther mothered and cared for the little boys until Charles married Emily Halliday, a widow.

They took their eight children and moved to Hooper on March 1, 1870, where Charles farmed and operated another blacksmith shop. It was the most difficult work, as "Hooper was nothing but sagebrush and greasewood." They built their house of boards, straight up and down, with cane squeezings for the roof. Later the house was replaced with one made of adobe.

The Great Salt Lake was lower than it had ever been to the knowledge of the white man. Charles used to walk out across the wide stretches of white and gather their salt.

He was First Assistant Superintendent of Sunday school in South Hooper from 1882 to 1886. He helped organize the first Relief Society in Hooper.

He was a lover of horses as were all his sons and he usually owned a beautiful team.

They lived in South Hooper until the last child was married. They left their old home and lived with William Henry and Simon. Mrs. Dalton spent some time with her son, Steve.

Charles helped his son, John Luther, in genealogy and was chairman of the first Dalton Genealogical Organization.

Source: Voyla Dalton Smith.

Charles Dalton, that early young man from the “Dalton Hollow” farm in Pennsylvania,

to a well known Mormon Pioneer in Utah, passed away at the home of his son Simon Dalton in Ogden, Utah on May 23, 1891. He is buried in the Ogden City Cemetery in Lot 4-6-D.

This obituary of Charles Dalton of Ogden Utah was copied from the May 27, 1891 issue of “The Semi-Weekly Standard” newspaper – Ogden Utah. I found it in the archives of the Weber State University library. It was also printed in the Deseret News.

Demise of a Pioneer:

The news of the death of Charles Dalton was received with feelings of sorrow by his many friends yesterday morning. Mr. Dalton was the father of J. L. Dalton, of the firm of Dalton, Nye & Cannon and Simon Dalton of Twenty-third Street, at whose residence he passed away. The cause of his demise was old age and general debility. Mr. Dalton was one of the early pioneers of Utah, coming here from Winter quarters in 1848. He left Nauvoo at the time of the exodus. He was a thorough and respected citizen. The funeral services will be held at the Fourth ward meeting house today (Sunday) at 2 p.m. All friends are invited to attend.

Here is the official Church records of Charles Dalton:

Source: Ancestry, LDS Family History Suite 2 CD-Orem Utah.

Dalton, Charles:

Birth: Dalton, Charles - Date: August 22, 1810 - Place: Wysox, Bradford Co., PA.  

Parents: Dalton, Charles - Father: Dalton, John - Mother: Cooker, Elizabeth

Death: Dalton, Charles - Date: May 22, 1891 - Place: Ogden, Weber Co., UT.         

Burial Date: May 25, 1891 - Buried: Ogden, Weber, UT.

Marriage Information: Dalton, Charles - Spouse: Warner, Mary Elizabeth.

Children: Dalton, Charles.

Name Birth date Place

1. Dalton, John Luther - October 18, 1843, Nauvoo, Hancock, Illinois           

2. Dalton, Elizabeth Permelia - July 20, 1845, Nauvoo, Hancock, Illinois       

3. Dalton, Martha Jane - September 30, 1846, Shell Creek, Missouri.

Marriage Number 2 Dalton, Charles - Spouse: Daniels, Eunice - Date: April 23, 1854 Place: Salt Lake City, Salt Lake, UT.

Marriage 2

Children:

Name Birth date Place

1. Dalton, Dell, February 11, 1855, Farmington, Davis Co., UT.

2. Dalton, Charles Sheffield, February 12, 1857, Farmington, Davis, UT.

3. Dalton, Orlando, February 3, 1859, Centerville, Davis, UT.

4. Dalton, Don Carlos, February 7, 1861, Sugar House, Salt Lake Co., UT.

5. Dalton, Simon, March 10, 1863, Peterson, Morgan Co., UT.

6. Dalton, William Henry, May 1, 1865, Peterson, Morgan, UT.

Marriage Number 3 Dalton, Charles - Spouse: Halliday, Emma.

Church Ordinance Data: Dalton, Charles, Ordained High Priest.

Temple Ordinance Data: Dalton, Charles – Baptism, Date: October 3, 1968.

Baptism Date: July 7, 1981 - Temple: Salt Lake City, Salt Lake Co., UT.

Endowment Date: January 10, 1846 - Temple: Nauvoo, Hancock Co., IL.

Sealed to Parents, Date: April 9, 1907 -Temple: Salt Lake City, Salt Lake Co., UT.

Sealed to Spouse - Date: January 24, 1846.

Sealed to Spouse - Date: April 23, 1854.

Sealed to Spouse -Date: April 23, 1854.

Places of Residence: Dalton, Charles - Nauvoo, Hancock Co. Illinois.

1843-1844, Illinois.

Nauvoo City Tax Lists 1841-44.

Salt Lake City, Salt Lake Co., UT. 1860.

Vocations: Dalton, Charles – Farmer.

Comments: Dalton, Charles. Charles is listed on the Continuing Church Record and also the Daily Log of Persons in Nauvoo.

Comments: #21. In 1860, Charles had a household of 7 with $300 in personal wealth.

On the day that Charles Dalton received his Endowments in the Nauvoo Temple:

The City of Joseph

Saturday, January 10, 1846

Nauvoo, Illinois:

The weather was fine. One hundred eighteen people received their ordinances.

During the day, Elder Willard Richards asked Thomas Bullock and two other brothers if they would pray every day that he would be able to live and complete the History of the Church. They all said that they would. Elder Richards prophesied, "If you do this you shall become gray headed old men, and you shall become heads of great and mighty kingdoms." He told them to go record this in their journals. (Thomas Bullock would die in 1885, at the age of sixty-eight, the father of at least fifteen children. One of the other men, George D. Watt lived to be sixty-five, the father of at least twenty-one children.)

Brigham Young received a letter from Wilford Woodruff in Liverpool, telling President Young that he had made arrangements to send his family home to Nauvoo by way of New Orleans. Elder Woodruff would return via Boston, stopping in Maine and Connecticut to bring his relatives to Nauvoo in time to go west with the Saints.

Elisha Hoops reported that the mob was making preparations in Warsaw for another campaign against the Saints.

A meeting of the 21st Quorum of Seventies was held. At this meeting, Zenas H. Gurley (who would in later years be one of the founders of the RLDS church) arose and said the presidents of the 21st quorum had received their endowment. He observed that it was a remarkable outpouring of the Holy Spirit. He preached that Joseph and Hyrum had "obtained their exaltation by patient submission to right."

Carthage, Illinois:

The group of brethren when to Carthage as planned the day before. Everything went well, "the Anties made no resistance and the Mormons carried the day."

Sources:

History of the Church, Vol.7, Ch.38, p.566

Hosea Stout Diary (1846), vol. 2, typescript, BYU-S, p.120 - p.121

Joseph Fielding Smith Jr., Doctrines of Salvation, Vol.1, p.250

Thomas Bullock Journal, BYU Studies Vol 31, No 1

Main Source: From a Book written on the Dalton’s by: Leslie (Dalton) Crunk

The history of Jemima Dalton, 1807 – 1902; The forth daughter of John Dalton Sr.

Jemima Dalton was born on October 11, 1807 in Wysox, Bradford County, Pennsylvania; She died on May 29, 1902 in Hawarden Iowa. Jemima married Moses Vargason in 1821 in Bradford County, Pennsylvania. Moses was born on December 15, 1804, in Pennsylvania; He died on April 28, 1879, in LeRoy, Minnesota. They had nine children:

Simon, Nelson, Polly, Caroline, Sophia, Jane Caroline, Jennette, Philelia, Adeline and Marie.

Jemima Dalton was buried in the LeRoy, Minnesota, cemetery near the far west gate, four rows east of road, under a tree. Headstone is" limestone" type and not very readable as is the one for Moses.

From the LeRoy Independent newspaper of June 27, 1902 Vol. 28, No. 3.

Obituary - Jemima Dolton Vargason:

“Miss Jemima Dolton was born in the year 1803. She married Moses Vargason in 1821. Eight children were born to them. They moved with their family to Michigan, thence to Wisconsin, from there to LeRoy, Minnesota” They were early settlers there in 1845. They toiled hand-in-hand down life's rugged pathway until her husband was called to the better land where he awaited her coming. Two daughters also awaited her there, Mrs. Polly Armstrong and Mrs. Caroline Jackson. Hers was a life of usefulness. A kind and loving wife and companion, a devoted mother and a faithful friend and a Christian. She was well known to all of the old people of LeRoy. She leaves to mourn her loss one son and five daughters; Simon Vargason, Minn.; Mrs. Sophia Gee, Haywarden, Iowa; Mrs Jane Daily, LeRoy, Minn.; Mrs. Phidelia Workman, Minneapolis, Minn.; Mrs Janette Jones, Sauk Rapids, Minn.; Mrs.Adaline Ostrander, Spring Valley, Minn.; a nephew O.W.Dolton, Sr., Selby S. D., besides many grandchildren. Her last years were spent with her daughter, Mrs Gee, who tho' having poor health herself was ever kind and thoughtful of a mother's care and attention. Her remains were brought to LeRoy and laid to rest beside her husband and daughter in the LeRoy Cemetery. The funeral services were conducted at the Presbyterian Church, Sunday, June 1st, 1902” Burial: 1902, buried in LeRoy Cemetery, LeRoy, Minnesota.

Moses Vargason is buried in the LeRoy, Minnesota, Cemetery.

Source; From the book, "The History of Mower County Minnesota"; 1911; editor, Franklyn Curtiss-Wedge.

"During the same year, 1854, George and John Britt, Samuel Bacon, Palmer H. Stevens, Moses Vargason and Wentworth Hayes came in to swell the already fair-sized colony of pioneers.... Vargason was a native of Pennsylvania, coming from Waukon, Iowa, to this place. He preempted the west half of the southeast quarter of section 33. He lived there about ten years, then sold out and bought land on section 35, on which place he died in 1879."

Source: From the book, "New Town on the Frontier, An Early History of LeRoy Minnesota", 1993, Zona Perry Jones.

"Moses Vargason and family, natives of Pennsylvania, came to LeRoy from Waukon, Iowa. He preempted the west half of the southeast quarter of section 33, lived there about ten years, then sold out and bought land on section 35. Mr. Vargason died there in 1879. (Surname also spelled Vargeson and Vargisson.)"

From 1860 Federal Census, quoted in above book:

“Moses Vargisson, M, 55, Farmer, cannot read or write, Pennsylvania; Mina, F, 51, Pennsylvania; Sophia, F, 25, Pennsylvania; Idelia, F, 13, school, Pennsylvania; Adeline, F, 8, school, Pennsylvania."

His death is recorded in Book A, page 81, line 110 at the Mower County courthouse in Austin, Minnesota. He is shown as 72 years old and born in New York (but he shows up in the 1830 census as from Pennsylvania). He died of dropsy in the Township of LeRoy, Minnesota. His death was registered 11/28/1879. His parents were not listed. The date of death was given as 4/3/1879 but the date on the tombstone is 4/28/1879; since his death was registered 4/28/1879, perhaps the death date and registration date were confused by the stone cutter.

More About Moses Vargason:

Burial: April 29, 1879, buried in LeRoy Cemetery, LeRoy, Minnesota.

Cause of Death: dropsy.

Emigration: Bet. April - May 1854, Moved from the Kenosha Wisconsin area to Waukon, Iowa and from there to LeRoy, Minnesota in 1854.

Fact 1: Native of Pennsylvania.

Fact 2: came to Leroy Minn. from Waukon Iowa.

Fact 3: could not read or write.

*********************************************************

The history of Elizabeth (Betsy) Dalton, 1803 – 1892

The third daughter of John Dalton Sr.

Elizabeth Dalton, or Betsy as she was called, was born on August 15, 1803 in Wyoming, Luzerne Co. Pennsylvania and died on Jan. 29, 1892 in Hazelton, Buchanan Co. Iowa.

We only know from the records below about Elizabeth Dalton’s life.

"John Varguson and Miss Betsy Dalton were married by Justice Harry Morgan, both of Wysox, Bradford County, Pennsylvania. On December 26, 1822"

Elizabeth Dalton was the first daughter to marry into the Varguson family. Her younger sisters, Jemima and Harriet married two of John Varguson’s younger brothers.

Source: "Pioneer and Patriot Families of Bradford Co. Pa. 1770-1850 by Clement F. Heverly. Page 26.

Elizabeth had nine children with John Varguson:

Harry Morgan, Harriet Elizabeth, Lyman Richardson, Emily Victorene, Sarah Eveline,

John M., George Bertgle, Mary and Betsy.

The Census Reports shows her in 1850, Buchanan County, Iowa with the Bigelow family living with them. The 1860 & 1870, censuses show her in Washington Township, Iowa.

The 1880, census shows her in Hazelton Township, Iowa.

Obituary of Betsey (Dalton) Varguson

Independence Conservative, Independence, Buchanan County, Iowa

Feb 03, 1892

Hazleton – Died.

“Grandma Varguson, at the residence of her daughter, Mrs. James Welch, last Friday. She was in her 88th year. Her death was caused by a cancer on her lip. The funeral services were held at the M. E. Church, conducted by Rev. Platts. She was a terrible sufferer. Betsy Dalton was born in Bradford County, Pennsylvania, August 15th, 1803. She was married to John Varguson in 1822, who died June 26th, 1883. They lived in Pennsylvania 14 years and then moved to Jackson county, Michigan where they resided 7 years, and from there to Racine, Wisconsin, where they lived 7 years, and thence to Buchanan County, Iowa, where she resided until her death. She united with the Presbyterian church when she was 18 years of age, of which church she was a member until 1866, when she joined the Free Will Baptist church. She was the beloved mother of 8 children, 4 boys and 4 girls, of which 7 still remain to mourn.

The history of Margaret Dalton, 1792 – 1875:

The first daughter of John Dalton Sr.

Margaret Dalton was born on Nov. 7, 1792 somewhere in Bucks Co. Pennsylvania and died on June 22nd, 1875 in Manchester, Washtenaw Co., Michigan.

All we really know about her is she was called “ Peggy” and she did marry Stephen Potter Merithew in Sheshequin Township on Nov. 15, 1812, with Justice Samual Gore, officiating. Stephen Merithew was from Claverack, which is next door to Wysox. They had 12 children, all but the last, born in Sheshequin, Bradford Co. where they made their home before moving with the other Dalton family to Michigan in 1835.

Children were: Hannah, Sarah, John Dalton, Samuel Simon, Mary E., Jacob M., Stephan M., Jane E., Margaret J., Abigail, Charlotte D., and William.

MERITHEW STEPHEN, Washtenaw County MI. 757 Freedom Township.

Source: From the 1850 Michigan Census:

*******************************************************

The history of Sarah (Sally) Dalton:

The second daughter of John Dalton Sr.

Sarah Dalton was born somewhere in Bucks Co. Pennsylvania in 1796 and died in 1813 when she was 16 years old. We can not know the cause of her death, because many children died of measles, diphtheria, small pox, scarlet fever and just plain old accidents. She was probably buried in the old cemetery of the Wysox Presbyterian Church.

The cemetery is located on 187 North behind the Wysox Presbyterian Church and the Wysox Elementary School. First burials in Wysox were made on the slope toward the river just beyond the Madill house, south of the national highway number six, and also south of the railroad. Here the first burial was that of Hermonos Van Vankenburg (probably prior to May 19, 1778, according to Craft, p. 63), who with the Stropes had settled on the river flat below, just west of the mouth of the Wysox Creek. Other burials followed, including probably Issac Van Valkenburg and his wife who are said to have died after 1785 (Craft, p. 455), Sebastian Strope (June 4, 1805) and his wife about 1814. According to the Memorial Paper written by Edward E. Hoagland for the Centennial of 1928, "When the railroad was put through this valley in 1869, it became necessary to remove the cemetery that was near Dr. Madill's, and many of the families who had ancestors buried there had them removed to the cemetery back of the church. There were few costly markers in those days and most of the graves were marked by a stone of local origin that was not hard enough to long withstand the erosion of the elements. Hence, it is to be lamented there is a section of this cemetery where it cannot be determined who is buried there, for there are no inscriptions remaining on the markers.

*******************************************************

The history of Harriet Dalton, 1812 -

The last daughter of John Dalton Sr.

Harriet Dalton was reported to be born sometime in 1812 at Dalton Hollow on the farm in Wysox, Bradford Co., Pennsylvania. She died on August 12, 1896 in Hazelton, Buchanan Co. Iowa.

As with her older sister, Margaret, not much has been found about the life of Harriet Dalton except she lived around her brothers and sisters until after they all left Michigan.

She married one of the Varguson brothers, Hiram sometime in 1833. They had three children: Amanda, Charles S. and Elizabeth.

According to the birth date of her second child, Harriet Dalton and her family didn’t leave for Michigan until after 1836.

Harriet Dalton Varguson is buried in the Hazleton Cemetery in Hazelton, Buchanan Co. Iowa. Hiram Varguson is buried in the Fantana Cemetery near Hazelton, Iowa.

The following articles are stories of what our Dalton family must have experienced living in the Great Salt Lake valley during their first year. It makes for interesting reading.

The First Year in the Valley:

By Leonard J. Arrington

The manner in which the advance company was organized to prepare the valley for occupation by the church is of special interest because of the pattern set for future Mormon colonizing activity. That this pattern of central planning and collective labor was ideally designed for the geography and conditions of settlement in the Great Basin was something which came to be appreciated later: It confirmed to the Mormons that their way was God's way. But before this was recognized--indeed, in the first camp meeting held in the Salt Lake Valley--leaders and followers reached a consensus that they would not "scatter" their labors--that they would combine and concentrate their efforts and work cooperatively--that a Kingdom built in any other way was a fraud--a "Kingdom of the world." As one of the pioneers expressed it, they formally agreed to put their "'mites' together for that which is the best for every man, woman and child." In line with this decision, many of the early sermons were devoted to the theme of working for the common good and rooting out selfishness.

Consciously, then, but effortlessly-as if by force of habit-the advance company was divided into cadres or "committees" for work. One group staked off, plowed, harrowed, and irrigated thirty-five acres of land, which was planted in potatoes, corn, oats, buckwheat, beans, turnips, and garden seeds. Another party located a site for a temple and laid out a city of 135 ten-acre blocks, with the Temple Block in the center. Each block was divided into eight home lots of an acre and one-fourth each. The streets-uniformly eight rods wide--ran east west and north south, and were named, starting from the Temple Block, First East, Second East; First South, Second South; First West, Second West, and so on. The city was named "Great Salt Lake City, Great Basin, North America," and names were given to various creeks and streams in the valley, and to some of the peaks surrounding it. Regulations were adopted that the sidewalks be twenty feet wide, that the houses be built twenty feet back from the sidewalks, and that the houses be constructed of sun-dried, clay adobes, after the manner of the Spanish. Lots around Temple Block were apportioned to members of the Quorum of the Twelve (the First Presidency was not selected until December 1847), and other lots were distributed by lot. One of the blocks was selected for a fort or stockade of log cabins within which the pioneers would live until permanent structures could be erected on the city lots.

A large group was then assigned to build log cabins and a wall around the fort: "Sixty to hoke, twelve to mould and twenty to put up walls." Within a month, twenty-nine log houses had been built in the fort, each eight or nine feet high, sixteen feet long, and fourteen feet wide. A block was set aside for a public adobe yard, and an adobe wall was constructed around the three open sides of the fort.

Another committee of the advanced party located timber in a nearby canyon, constructed a road, extracted logs for the cabins, and dug a pit for a whipsaw. A boat was made for use in the creeks, a blacksmith shop was set up, corrals were built, and a community storehouse was erected. Others were assigned to hunt for wild game, try their luck at fishing, and extract salt from Great Salt Lake. In eight days the hunters had been able to bag only "one hare, one badger, one white wolf, and three sage hens"; the fishing expedition had netted "only four fish"; and the salt committee had made 125 bushels of "coarse white salt," and one barrel of "fine white table salt."

Other parties were sent on "missions": One group to California to establish contact with members of the church there; another to Fort Hall, Northwest Territory, to obtain pro-visions--at the rate of $20.00 per hundred for flour, and ten cents per pound for beef. Still another group went back on the trail to meet and assist the large company which had followed the advance party from Winter Quarters.

Religious services were held each Sunday in a man-made shelter of brush and boughs, called the "Bowery," built on Temple Block by returning members of the Mormon Battalion. One of the creeks was dammed to form a pool, and most of the camp members were re-baptized. This was done, wrote Erastus Snow, "because we had, as it were, entered a New World, and wished to renew our covenants and commence a newness of life."

It was in "free and open discussions" in these services that all basic decisions were made. The earliest of these was that none should hunt or fish or work on Sunday. Another placed the government of the colony, for the next year at least, in the hands of a stake presidency of three and a high council of twelve. These men were to be appointed by the members of the Quorum of Twelve Apostles, with the approval of the congregation. Other officials included a clerk, water master, surveyor, and marshal. In another decision, the members of the camp agreed to fence in the city as a guard against livestock, and to establish a farming area south of the city, called the Big Field, where common farming practices would be followed.

Finally, in these meetings the group expressed approval of Brigham Young's proclamations with respect to land ownership and mercantile policy:

No man will be suffered to cut up his lot and sell a part to speculate out of his brethren. Each man must keep his lot whole, for the Lord has given it to us without price. Every man should have his land measured off to him for city and farming purposes, what he could till. He might till as he pleased, but he should be industrious and take care of it.

We do not intend to have any trade or commerce with the gentile [non-Mormon] world, for so long as we buy of them we are in a degree dependent upon them. The Kingdom of God cannot rise independent of the gentile nations until we produce, manufacture, and make every article of use, convenience, or necessity among our own people. We shall have Elders abroad among all nations, and until we can obtain and collect the raw material for our manufactures it will be their business to gather in such things as are, or may be, needed. So we shall need no commerce with the nations. I am determined to cut every thread of this kind and live free and independent, untrammeled by any of their detestable customs and practices.

These tasks being accomplished, and these policies being agreed upon, Brigham Young and Heber C. Kimball, who had more or less directed the group during its first month in the valley, left on August 26 with most of the men to return to Winter Quarters to report their labors and to prepare the great bulk of the 16,000 persons located there for migration to the valley in 1848 and succeeding years. The major party was preceded by a group especially assigned to hunt for game to sustain them on the return journey.

In September, the main body of emigrants, consisting of some 1540 persons, arrived in the valley to join the remnant of the advance company. Counting the influx from California and other groups, there were some 1681 persons who spent the winter of 1847-48 in the Salt Lake Valley. This large group was organized for public labor by the Salt Lake Stake Presidency and High Council, a group which constituted what was referred to as "the municipal council." They were obligated to respect the authority of the members of the Twelve Apostles, as a kind of Supreme Court, and they were expected to exercise the government of the Mormon colony until after the return of Brigham Young and others in the fall of 1848.

Under the leadership of this ecclesiastical municipal council, two additional ten-acre blocks were added to the fort and some 450 log cabins were constructed; the adobe wall around the fort was completed; an eleven-mile pole and ditch fence was constructed around the city to control the movement of livestock; and a number of roads and bridges were built. A Big Field of some 5133 acres of farming land was "taken up" and prepared for planting. Some 872 acres of the field were planted in winter wheat. When Captain James Brown came from California with $5000 in Mormon Battalion pay, the Council appointed a group of persons to take some of the money to California to purchase "cows, mules, mares, wheat, and seeds of different kinds.” They returned in the spring with 200 cows (less forty lost in Nevada), purchased at $6.00 per head, and with grain and fruit cuttings of various kinds. The Council also appointed Captain Brown to use $1950 of the money in buying the Miles Goodyear ranch and trading post in Weber Valley. This purchase removed a possible obstacle to the settlement of that large and productive area.

This "public labor" was largely accomplished through the tens, fifties, and hundreds which had been organized for crossing the Plains. The organization is illustrated by this notation in the church's Journal History for November 28, 1847:

It was decided that Pres. John Smith and his Counselors should locate a road east of the fort and also one south, and build a bridge over the third creek from City Creek, and call on his hundred to do the necessary labor. Pres. Roundy and his Counselors were appointed to locate a road to the north canyon, and call on his hundred to work it.

The High Council also allocated and regulated economic rights and privileges. Charles Crismon was asked to build immediately a small gristmill (with no bolt) on City Creek. He was to be "sustained" with "labor, good pay and as much grain as the people could be persuaded to spare." When the mill began to operate in November, the stake presidency and High Council took under advisement "the regulation of the price of grinding and all things worthy of note," and on December 2 decided "that Bro. Charles Crismon be allowed twenty cents per bushel for grinding and that he keep an account of the number of bushels, who the grinding was done for and the time occupied in grinding, and if the payment agreed upon did not suffice, then the Council would reconsider the matter.” Later, John Neff was authorized to erect "a good flour mill" before the next harvest. Four sawmills were built or authorized; a carding mill frame was erected; and a water-powered threshing machine was placed in operation that would thresh and clean 200 bushels per day. Regulations were adopted with respect to the conservation of wood and timber: No person was allowed to build with logs without permission; no person was entitled to cut more than he could use quickly; and only dead timber could be used as fuel.

While the colony seems to have been admirably organized to accomplish as much as possible with the limited supply of labor and equipment, it would appear that, under the circumstances, too many persons had been allowed to join the second contingent which left Winter Quarters in 1847. A food problem emerged. In the fall, the cattle and horses had gotten into the planted acreage and destroyed everything but the potatoes. Later in the winter, the Indians, wolves, and other "destroyers" and "wasters" made away with much of the livestock. A special committee was appointed by the High Council "to act in behalf of the destitute and to receive donations, buy, sell, exchange and distribute, according to circumstances, for that purpose." Controls were placed on the prices of necessities, and a voluntary rationing system was instituted limiting each person to about one-half pound of flour per day. The people tried eating crows, thistle tops, bark, roots, and Sego Lily bulbs-anything that might offer nutriment or fill the empty stomach. One or two persons were poisoned by eating wild parsnip roots. A typical experience was that of Priddy Meeks, who had been through many trials in his life and found this to be one of the worst:

“My family went several months without a satisfying meal of victuals. I went sometimes a mile up Jordan to a patch of wild roses to get the berries to eat, which I would eat as rapidly as a hog, stems and all. I shot hawks and crows and they ate well. I would go and search the mire holes and find cattle dead and fleece off what meat I could and eat it. We used wolf meat, which I thought was good. I made some wooden spades to dig segos [Sego Lily] with, but we could not supply our wants.

We had to exert ourselves to get something to eat. I would take a grubbing-hoe and a sack and start by sunrise in the morning and go, I thought six miles before coming to where the thistle roots grew, and in time to get home I would have a bushel and sometimes more thistle roots. And we would eat them raw. I would dig until I grew weak and faint and sit down and eat a root, and then begin again. I continued this until the roots began to fail. All looked forward to the spring harvest. But when the winter wheat and garden vegetables began to show their heads, late frosts injured a considerable proportion. And then, in May and June, hordes of hungry crickets moved upon the land and seemed certain to rob the settlers of the last vestige of food.

Wingless, dumpy, black, swollen-headed, with bulging eyes in cases like goggles, mounted upon legs of steel wire and clock-spring, and with a general personal appearance that justified the Mormons in comparing him to a cross of the spider on the buffalo, the Deseret cricket comes down from the mountains at a certain season of the year, in voracious and desolating myriad’s. It was just at this season, that the first crops of the new settlers were in the full glory of their youthful green. The assailants could not be repulsed. The Mormons, after their fashion, prayed and fought, and fought and prayed, but to no purpose. The "Black Philistines" mowed their way even with the ground, leaving it as if touched with an acid or burnt by fire.

Men and women alike fought the crickets with sticks, shovels, and brooms, with gunny sacks and trenches, but with little avail.

Finally, just before the entire crop had been eaten clean, came the announcement from the president of the High Council: "Brethren, we do not want you to part with your wagons and teams for we might need them," intimating that they were considering moving on to California or some other gathering place. But at the moment this announcement was being delivered, seagulls providentially moved in and began to devour the crickets, "sweeping them up as they went along." "I guess," wrote Priddy Meeks, "this circumstance changed our feeling considerable for the better."

Nevertheless, the combination of disasters discouraged many. One of the settlers, a brother of Brigham Young, wanted to send an express to Brigham, telling him not to bring any more people to the valley, for "they would all starve to death." John Neff, who was building a large gristmill, "left off...for a while, as many expected there would be no grain to grind." A few of the colonists went on to California and others returned to the Missouri Valley. Still others went to meet the incoming migration from Winter Quarters. When a partial harvest was reaped in July and August, the pioneers were so grateful for a substitute for green peas, roots, and berries that they held a special Thanksgiving "feast," with prayer, music, dancing, firing of cannon, and shouts of Hosannah.

Source:

Leonard J. Arrington (1917- 2001) a prominent figure in scholarship of the American West, is historian of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and director of the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies at Brigham Young University, where he holds the Redd Chair in Western American history.

Journal History of the Church), August 8, 1847.

Pioneer Property In Salt Lake City:

By Glen M. Leonard.

The Latter-day Saints left Nauvoo, Illinois, in 1846 with clear memories of a contest between competing land agents. In the Salt Lake Valley, Brigham Young established an orderly land distribution system to limit the profit motive. Each family received without cost a 1.25- acre city plot, one of eight in each 10-acre block. Men with plural wives could claim additional lots. Farm plots south of Ninth South were 5, 10, and 20 acres. Settlers agreed not to divide or sell their property, a provision not long enforced.

With the initial survey launched on August 3, 1847, members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles selected their city lots near the temple block. Brigham Young eventually built his office and homes east of a comer reserved for the Deseret Store and Tithing Office. Heber C. Kimball claimed the next block north, while Willard Richards, the other counselor in the First Presidency, picked lots just south of Temple Square. Other General Authorities built nearby. Together these Church officials owned most of eight blocks surrounding Temple Square. Recorder Thomas Bullock charged a $1.25 recording fee, but owners received legal title only after the U.S. government established a land office in 1873.

Other 1847 pioneers, wintering in the log fort on Block 48, waited a year for building lots. After Church leaders returned from Winter Quarters in September 1848, they allocated city lots through a lottery. The 1847 migration had numbered 2,000 immigrants; the arriving 1848 migration would double that number. The city expanded to meet growing needs. To supplement the useful lots in the 3 blocks of Plot A (22 blocks on the northern hillside were not assigned) Church leaders immediately added Plot B with 63 blocks to the east. Surveys in 1849 and 1850 added 24 blocks to the west (Plot C) and 240 smaller, four-lot blocks (18 of them set aside for a cemetery) on the slopes to the northeast (Plot D). Only one-third of Brigham Young's pioneer party of July 1847 received lots in Plot A; many of them settled elsewhere in the expanding city or in other communities (some single men were not ready to claim lots). Returning Mormon Battalion veterans whom claimed lots in Plot A settled mostly in the northernmost tiers or west and south of the fort. So did a few of the Mississippi Saints, but most of that 1847-1848 immigrant company settled ten miles away, on a plot created for them at the mouth of Big Cottonwood Canyon.

City lots were intended for residential use, with space enough for a home, garden, orchard, and small outbuildings. Tradesmen and merchants were expected to operate their businesses on their residential lots, but soon a concentrated business district developed. Settlers built the first public buildings on the temple block boweries (temporary shelters), tabernacles, public works shops housing carpenters, stonemasons, and blacksmiths, and the Endowment House. Commercial and public buildings appeared outside Temple Square beginning with the Council Hall and nearby mercantile store and post office on Main Street. Soon, other merchants established operations in an emerging commercial district between First and Third South.

With Brigham Young's death in 1877, the Church claimed property held in his name as trustee-in-trust. This included the temple block and commercial and administrative properties to the south and east. Other land surrounding Temple Square gradually moved to LDS Church ownership, especially since the 1950s.

Today the Church, through various entities, holds title to nearly 90 acres downtown. Included are several apartment complexes and two shopping malls (ZCMI Center and Crossroads Plaza) with related office towers and parking plazas, all developed by the Church-owned Zions Securities Corporation. Salt Lake County uses Church land under the Salt Palace complex for one dollar a year. With the expansion of church holdings in the 20th century, the same central blocks originally owned largely by Mormon leaders are now under Church control.

Looking ahead to needs of the community and an international Church in a new century, LDS leaders have carefully planned their downtown property. The plan maintains a central corridor of Church office buildings east and west of Temple Square. It looks to more multi- unit housing complexes east and north of that corridor and confirms a commercial use for the district south of South Temple. The master plan guarantees that the buildings of Church headquarters and Temple Square will have a compatible surrounding neighborhood in the vibrant north portion of downtown Salt Lake City.

Early Salt Lake City showing Brigham Young’s Forest Farmhouse - 1863

Imagine elegant parties, musical performances, dances and meetings hosted by Brigham Young in the second floor ballroom of his forest farmhouse. Completed in 1863, the farmhouse exhibits many interesting artifacts from the pioneer period.

A look at the “Boweries in early SLC:

The Saints' propensity for "going to meeting," as they called congregational worship, increased after they settled in the Great Basin. Community meetings were first held in the Salt Lake City fort, with a haystack affording shade and a small cannon serving as a podium. Later a "bowery" was built within the fort by erecting posts, interlacing them with beams, and covering the affair with boughs and leaves. Boweries became a staple of Salt Lake and outlying community worship-in some communities they were not replaced by tabernacles for several decades. After the abandonment of the fort bowery, Salt Lake City settlers erected another on Temple Square, eventually giving it adobe walls and a ceiling of debris and soil. Still bigger boweries followed, largely to attend to the needs of the Church's general conferences when no community building could seat the flood of the people who attended.

The Bowery was the place to have a ball:

If there was one thing the Mormon pioneers did a great deal, it was congregate. Their cooperative organization demanded it, as did their social interests and spiritual desires. One of the first orders of business, at camps along the trail and in the Salt Lake Valley, was to build a place large enough for the people to get together.

It was under a bowery at Council Bluffs, Iowa, that Brigham Young called volunteers to enlist in the United States Army's Mexican-American conflict. More than 500 men enlisted, leaving the remainder of the groups shorthanded, but providing some beneficial financial resources. The same bowery where the Mormon Battalion was called served as the dance hall for a farewell

The day after their arrival in the valley the members of the Mormon Battalion contributed to the community by erecting a bowery, 40 x 28 feet, where the Saints could hold their religious meetings the following Sabbath.

The bowery they built was much like the ones they were accustomed to back east, simply a pole framework covered with leafy boughs for shade, hence the name bowery.

The Bowery in Old Deseret is constructed in the same way. Its shade provides a pleasant resting stop in Old Deseret, and it must have been a welcome respite from the heat for the pioneers as well.

The Saints later built a larger bowery on Temple Square to accommodate the larger numbers of people as they arrived, and it was in use until a larger more permanent structure could be built.

Next are many Maps, Articles and Pictures pertaining to our Dalton Family in Michigan, Nauvoo and Utah. (Not in any order)

Present Day LDS Meeting Hall at Temple Square in Salt Lake City Utah.

 

A drawing of Winter Quarters c. 1846

This is a picture of the original Nauvoo Temple, c-1845.
It is told our Dalton family helped built this great Temple.

Air view of Nauvoo.
Some of our Dalton’s owned land here until Feb.1846

The restored Nauvoo Post Office

Our Simon Cooker Dalton was reported to have been a postmaster in Nauvoo

The inside room of the restored blacksmith shop in Nauvoo.
Did our Simon Cooker Dalton work here at one time?
But then again there was many shops in Nauvoo at the time.

 

Present day air view of Nauvoo showing the new Nauvoo Temple.

Our Dalton’s traveled in the same type of wagon train.

The X's and star on the map above is where our Dalton's owned land and built cabins after they moved to Michigan from Wysox, Pennsylvania in the late fall of 1835. They settled in Freedom Township as the John Dalton book tells us. Simon Cooker Dalton moved his family to Sharon Township, section 18 above Sharon Hollow, still in Washtenaw Co. in April of 1837 according to a land patent. He then moved across the county line to Jackson Co. settling in Grass Lake, also according to a land patent dated August 1, 1837.

By the date shown below, Simon Cooker Dalton may have traveled to Freedom Township to buy the land where the Dalton family would live. He may have returned to Wysox to guide the Dalton's back to Freedom.

“Dolton, Simon C., res. of Bradford Co. Pa., Southeast ¼ of the Northwest

¼ of Section 18, 40 acres, of Township 3 South, Range 3 East.

Patent Date: June 3rd, 1835.”

The Rockville Cemetery, Washington County, Utah.

There are many of John Dalton Jr's family buried here, including 2 of his wife’s.

There is a list of graves as I copied them down:

John Dalton Jr. - Born July 10 1801 - Died Jan 5 1885.

Marianne Catherine Gordail – Born March 28 1834 – Died Oct. 14 1923.

Letitia Williams – Born July 12 1836 – Died Jan. 6 1902.

Eugene Dalton – Born April 22 1898 – Died Jan. 19 1920.

Laura M. Dalton – April 15 1886 – Died Feb. 25 1917.

Brigham Dalton – Born Feb. 8 1863 – Died Nov. 27 1940.

Brigham Dalton JR. - Born March 1886 – Died 1898.

George Dalton – Born 1893 – Died 1898.

George Dalton – Born August 25 1866 – Died Jan. 20 1893.

There are 3 other graves among the Dalton graves, but there were no names, just cement blocks with Numbers on them.

Old pioneer wagon tracks somewhere in Wyoming

 

Winter Quarters

Model of Winter Quarters

John Dalton Jr.‘s land Plat record

 

 

 

 

 

Bill of Sale for the land in Wysox, Penn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It seems that John Dalton Sr. didn’t have enough money to pay for his children’s schooling

Chapter 6  Chapter 7   Chapter 8    Back to The Dalton Chronicles